Skip to main content

Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library Policies: Interlibrary Loan Policies

All of the library's policies are posted here. Find information about our policies relating to collection development, public access, filming, services and more.

Interlibrary Loan Office

Interlibrary Loan Office is located in HA-112, behind the Circulation/Reserves Desk.

Office Hours:
Monday through Friday
8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

 


Pick Your Items Up & Return Them at the Circulation Desk

Hours: same as the Library

 


 

Contact us:
interlibrary@fitchburgstate.edu

Kelly Boudreau, Public Services Manager
(978) 665-3065  
 
Jordanna Lawton, Public Services Associate
(978) 665-3762  

 

Borrowing Policies: For Fitchburg State Students, Faculty & Staff

Interlibrary Loan is a service provided to obtain materials which are needed for use by Fitchburg State students, faculty and staff, but are not available through the Gallucci-Cirio Library's collections.

This is a library-to-library service; all requests for borrowing and renewing items from other libraries through the Interlibrary Loan Service must go through the Gallucci-Cirio Library's Interlibrary Loan staff. Our policies and procedures are based on the National Interlibrary Loan Code for the United States.

Through the ILLiad system you can access your Interlibrary Loan account to request items from other libraries, track your requests, receive electronic delivery of documents such as journal articles, immediate notification when your items are available for you to pick up and more. Use of the Interlibrary Loan services is restricted to current Fitchburg State students, faculty and staff.

Lending Policies: For Libraries

The following information is posted for libraries participating in the Interlibrary Loan program who would like to borrow our materials. Anyone from the general public may go to their home library (whether it is your public library, school library or special library that you are a member of) and use their Interlibrary Loan service to request materials from the Gallucci-Cirio Library.Our OCLC symbol is FTB.

Note: If you are an individual and wish to visit our library and have direct access to check circulating items out, please refer to our borrowing privilegesfor community members.

Acceptable Request Formats

  • OCLC Form submitted
  • ALA paper form

These forms may be submitted to us electronically through ILLiad, OCLC, via fax, or mailed.

Please Note:

  • We do not accept phone requests.
  • We do not accept walk-in requests through our Interlibrary Loan service.

Delivery Methods

  • Articles/Copies: Odyssey, Article Exchange, Email, Fax, USPS
  • Books and Media: State Courier Service, UPS

Types of Material Lent

Audio-Visual Materials

  • CDs: length of loan is 4 weeks (Note: We do not lend musical theater.)
  • DVDs: length of loan is 2 weeks (Note: We do not lend musical theater.)

Books
Will lend from all circulating collections; oversized materials are subject to size, condition and cost. Don't lend Reference materials. Length of loan is 4 weeks; will Renew for 4 weeks.

Center for Italian Culture
Will lend. Length of loan is for books and audio is 4 weeks; will Renew for 4 weeks. Length of loan for video is 2 weeks; will Renew for 2 weeks.

Government Documents
No separate collection.

Manuscript Collections
The cataloged microfilm collections; reels may be lent up to 4 weeks.

Newspapers
Current Subscriptions

  • Bound: Copies only
  • Unbound: Copies only
  • Microfilm: Copies only

Historical newspapers

  • Reels may be lent for up to 4 weeks

Periodicals

  • Bound: Copies only
  • Unbound: Copies only
  • Microfilm: Copies only, except as noted above for the Manuscript Collections and historical newspapers
  • Electronic Format: Contingent upon our license agreement for each database/online service

Special Collections
Items do not circulate.

Photocopy Service

No charge for exposures or scanning; maximum limit 50 pages.

Billing Policy

Fitchburg State does not charge for any type of Interlibrary Loan Service. Borrowing libraries will be expected to pay for lost or damaged materials.

Postage

Fitchburg State does not charge postage. We request that return mailing labels be included with requests.

Comments

Our full lending policy is posted in the OCLC Policies Directory and periodicals holdings are listed in WorldCat.