Skip to main content

Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library Policies: Gifts Policies

All of the library's policies are posted here. Find information about our policies relating to collection development, public access, filming, services and more.

General Gifts/Donations Form

Please fill out a Gifts & Donations Form and submit it along with any gift materials to the Gallucci-Cirio Library. You may fill the form out online and print a copy prior to submitting your gift.

Gifts & Donations Form

General Gifts & Donations Policy

The Gallucci-Cirio Library welcomes gifts of appropriate materials from the community that may provide valuable additions to the library collection. All donated materials are expected to meet the same standards of quality and relevance to the collection as all newly acquired titles. Donations should support the curriculum and the mission of the library as well as meet established collection development guidelines and policies.

All gifts will undergo review by professional library staff in charge of collecting for the particular subject area that the material falls under. In the event a reviewer is unsure whether certain material should be added to the collection, other librarians and teaching faculty will be consulted for their views on appropriateness.

The library reserves the right to dispose of any gift materials that it considers not to meet the library collection needs and policy guidelines. The library may dispose of the unaccepted material in a variety of different ways, including: donating to other libraries; donating to local, nonprofit organizations; donating to academic departments; donating to individual faculty, staff, or students; or discarding/throwing away.

The donor has the following responsibilities:

  • Include completed  Gifts & Donations Form with any gift.

  • If the donor would like to redeem any materials not being considered for addition into the collection, they must indicate this preference on the form.

  • Items that are added to the collection may be recognized as a gift with the attachment of a book-plate stating the donor's name; donor must indicate this preference on the form.

  • If it is assumed the gift has a large monetary value and if an appraisal is so desired by the donor, s/he must have a monetary appraisal of the gift done before it is given to the library. This is in compliance with the Tax Reform Act of 1984 and the American Research Libraries' Statement on Appraisal of Gifts.

  • All gifts of money must first be discussed with the Dean of the Library.

Archives & Special Collections Donations Form

Archives & Special Collections Gifts & Records Transfer Policy

If you are interested in transferring records from within the University or donating materials to the Archives, please contact the Special Collections Librarian.

University administrative records should be transferred in accordance with the Massachusetts State Records Retention Schedule.

Materials from individuals or non-university sponsored organizations will not be accepted without a legal transfer of title through a Deed of Gift or deposit agreement. Transfer of copyright to the Archives is encouraged so that scholars using the collections can be granted permission from the Archives to quote from the collection.