Skip to main content

Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library Policies: Archives & Special Collections Policies

All of the library's policies are posted here. Find information about our policies relating to collection development, public access, filming, services and more.

General Information

The Archives & Special Collections are accessible to any member of the university community, alumni, scholars and the public.  Due to the fragile and unique nature of the items, it is necessary to make an appointment in advance.  We are available Monday-Friday, 8:30-4:30.

Please contact:

Asher Jackson,
Reference, Archives & Special Collections Librarian
978-665-4869
ajacks19@fitchburgstate.edu

Items within the Archives & Special Collections are not available for borrowing or loan.  Requests for copies will be approved and completed by the Reference, Archives & Special Collections Librarian.  On certain occasions, items deemed to be too fragile may not be copied.

Research Policy

We welcome researchers to the Archives and Special Collections. In order to ensure the security and preservation of materials within the Archives, your cooperation with the following regulations is greatly appreciated.

1. Researchers must make an appointment in advance with the Special Collections Librarian. Materials in the Archives & Special Collections do not circulate and must be used under the supervision of a librarian in the Archives.

2. Researchers must sign in and show picture identification in order to use materials in the collections. Students and employees may use their University ID; all other patrons must show valid photo identification.

3. Only paper, pencils and laptops may be used at the research table with archival materials. Pens are not allowed. Any other equipment, such as cameras or handheld scanners, may be used at the discretion of the librarian. Shelving will be provided for the storage of coats and bags.

4. Archives or library staff will complete all photocopy or scanning requests.  Photocopies are $.10/page; researchers must purchase a library copy card and place funds on it. Scans are free, but files will be sent via email.  Please do not remove items from folders for photocopying; use colored sheets as provided to tab items. All requests are subject to librarian approval due to concerns regarding copyright or condition.

5. Researchers will be given use of one box or item at a time. Only one folder may be removed from a box at a time. Existing arrangement of unbound materials must be preserved at all times. When viewing photographs or slides, patrons must wear cotton gloves as provided.

6. Researchers must comply with existing rules for library use (i.e. no food or drink, no cell phones).

Instruction & Outreach

We maintain a strong interest in working with faculty and instructors to utilize items within the Archives & Special Collections for their research.  We offer instructional sessions that introduce students to primary source research, how to search and locate materials within the Archives & Special Collections and in other repositories, and expectations for historical research.   If you are interested in booking an instructional session or utilizing items from the collection in student assignments, please contact the Reference and Special Collections Librarian.