Skip to main content

Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library Policies: Borrowing Policies

All of the library's policies are posted here. Find information about our policies relating to collection development, public access, filming, services and more.

Circulation Desk and Office

Circulation Office

Located in HA-112, behind the Circulation Desk.

Office Hours: Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.


Circulation Desk

Hours: Same as the Library


Contact Us

circulation@fitchburgstate.edu
(978) 665-3063

Kelly Boudreau, Public Services Manager
(978) 665-3065

Jordanna Lawton, Public Services Associate
(978) 665-3762

Borrowing Privileges for Fitchburg State Students

At the Gallucci-Cirio Library:

Students must present their Fitchburg State One Card at our Circulation Desk in order to check out any library items, use Reserves, and pick up Interlibrary Loan items. Students enrolled through Distance Learning or Extended Campus courses may use ILLiad to request library materials be sent to their home; see information about using our online request forms and document delivery services.

The number printed on your One Card is your Library Institution ID.

Your Library Barcode is your student Banner number with the "@" symbol changed to a zero.
Example: If your Banner number is @12345678, your Library Barcode would be 012345678.

The One Card I.D. is the student's Library Card for as long as s/he is enrolled at Fitchburg State. Refer to the One Card Office for information on how to get your card.

Borrowing Periods:

  • Books circulate for 4 weeks
  • Audio CDs circulate for 4 weeks
  • DVD and VHS video items circulate for 2 weeks.
  • Journals, magazines, newspapers, and reference materials are in-library-use only 

Number of items you can check out: As many as you want, there is no maximum limit.

Overdue Fees = $15 flat processing fee per item

Lost/Damaged Replacement Fees = $15 processing fee plus cost of the item

At WILL (Walk-in Interlibrary Loan Program) Libraries:

Fitchburg State students, faculty and staff may borrow circulating materials directly at any Massachusetts state university through the Walk-in Interlibrary Loan program at no charge. (UMass Worcester - Medical does not participate in this agreement).

Simply present your Fitchburg State Student One Card I.D. card at that library's Circulation Desk to register for borrowing privileges. If you have a pictureless student I.D. card, you may be asked to also provide a picture I.D. such as a driver's license. As part of this cross-borrowing agreement, you, the student, agree to abide by that library's policies.

At the request of the lending library the Gallucci-Cirio Library at Fitchburg State, as your home institution, agrees to place a hold on both your Fitchburg State library account and your Fitchburg State student account if you fail to return an item or do not pay any accrued late fines/lost fees. See list of participating libraries.

At ARC (Academic and Research Collaborative) Libraries:

ARC is a group of libraries in the Worcester area to which the Gallucci-Cirio Library belongs. Through the collaborative Fitchburg State students, faculty and staff may borrow circulating materials directly at most of these libraries. Within this group we participate in both a student and a faculty/staff cross-borrowing program.

In order to borrow circulating materials directly from any of these libraries, you must present a Student, Faculty or Staff ARC Card issued by our Circulation Department and your Fitchburg State One Card I.D. at that library's circulation desk. To get your ARC Card, please inquire at the Circulation Desk of the Gallucci-Cirio Library. See list of participating libraries.

At the request of the lending library the Gallucci-Cirio Library at Fitchburg State, as your home institution, agrees to place a hold on both your Fitchburg State library account and your Fitchburg State student account if you fail to return an item or do not pay any accrued late fines/lost fees.

Note: In order to receive a Fitchburg State ARC Card, you must have an active library account in good standing with us. We reserve the right to deny/revoke this auxiliary privilege to any Fitchburg State member whose library account is or becomes delinquent with us or any of the ARC member libraries.

 

Borrowing Privileges for Fitchburg State Faculty & Staff

At the Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library

Faculty and staff must present their Fitchburg State One Card to the Circulation Desk in order to check out any library items and pick up Interlibrary Loan items or you may use ILLiad to request delivery to your on-campus office. Faculty teaching through Distance Learning or Extended Campus courses may use ILLiad to request library materials be sent to their home; see information about using our online request forms and document delivery services.

The number printed on your One Card is your Library Institution ID.

Your Library Barcode is your faculty/staff Banner number with the "@" symbol changed to a zero.
Example: If your Banner number is @12345678, your Library Barcode would be 012345678.

The One Card is the faculty/staff member's Library Card for as long as s/he is employed at Fitchburg State. Refer to the One Card Office for information on how to get your card.

Borrowing Periods:

  • Books circulate for 6 months
  • Audio CDs circulate for 6 months
  • DVD and VHS video items circulate for 2 weeks.
  • Journals, magazines, newspapers, and reference materials are in-library-use only 

Number of items you can check out: As many as you want, there is no maximum limit.

Lost/Damaged Replacement Fees = $15 processing fee plus cost of the item

At WILL (Walk-in Interlibrary Loan Program) Libraries:

Fitchburg State faculty and staff may borrow circulating materials directly at any Massachusetts state university through the Walk-in Interlibrary Loan program at no charge. (UMass Worcester - Medical does not participate in this agreement).

Simply present your Fitchburg State One Card I.D. card at that library's Circulation Desk to register for borrowing privileges. If you have a pictureless student I.D. card, you may be asked to also provide a picture I.D. such as a driver's license. As part of this cross-borrowing agreement, you, as their guest patron, agree to abide by that library's policies.

At the request of the lending library the Gallucci-Cirio Library at Fitchburg State, as your home institution, agrees to place a hold on your Fitchburg State library account if you fail to return an item or do not pay any accrued late fines/lost fees.

At ARC (Academic and Research Collaborative) Libraries:

ARC is a group of libraries in the Worcester area to which the Gallucci-Cirio Library belongs. Through the collaborative Fitchburg State faculty and staff may borrow circulating materials directly at most of these libraries. Within this group we participate in both a student and a faculty/staff cross-borrowing program.

In order to borrow circulating materials directly from any of these libraries, you must present a Faculty or Staff ARC Card issued by our Circulation Department and your Fitchburg State One Card I.D. at that library's circulation desk. To get your ARC Card, please inquire at the Circulation Desk of the Gallucci-Cirio Library. See list of participating libraries.

At the request of the lending library the Gallucci-Cirio Library at Fitchburg State, as your home institution, agrees to place a hold on your Fitchburg State library account if you fail to return an item or do not pay any accrued late fines/lost fees.

Note: In order to receive a Fitchburg State ARC Card, you must have an active library account in good standing with us. We reserve the right to deny/revoke this auxiliary privilege to any Fitchburg State member whose library account is or becomes delinquent with us or any of the ARC member libraries.

Borrowing Policy

Public patrons may apply apply for a Special ID library card which will enable them to borrow circulating materials from the Gallucci-Cirio Library - patrons must be 18 years old and present a picture ID showing their address. The Special ID Library Card fee is $15/6 months and $30/1 year. A discounted fee is offered if you meet one of the following criteria:

  • Fitchburg residents with proof of Fitchburg address - $10/6 months and $20/1 year
  • Alumni students who present a Fitchburg State Alumni Card - $10/6 months and $20/1 year
  • Students and Faculty from MA. State Colleges & Universities - No application fee if you present a valid MA. State College I.D. and proof of current semester enrollment at time of application.
  • Faculty or students from a participating Academic Research Collaborative (ARC) library - No application fee if you present a valid ARC card issued by your home library.

Borrowing Periods:

  • Books circulate for 4 weeks
  • Audio CDs circulate for 4 weeks
  • DVD and VHS video items circulate for 2 weeks.
  • Journals, magazines, newspapers, and reference materials are in-library-use only 

A Maximum of 20 items may be checked out on a Special ID account at any time.

Overdue Fee = $15 flat fee per item

Lost/Damaged Replacement Fees = $15 processing fee plus cost of the item

Restrictions:

  • Special IDs cannot be used to borrow items at other libraries.
  • We don't provide interlibrary loan services for Special ID patrons; community users need to go through their public library or home institution for this service.

Payment Methods

The library accepts payments for fines and fees at the Circulation Desk anytime during our hours of operation. You can pay via your One Card, cash or check.

On Saturdays fee processing may be limited to thesis binding and Special ID library cards only. When this occurs payments are via check only.

You can also mail us a check, payable to Fitchburg State and send it to:

Library – Circulation Department
Fitchburg State University
160 Pearl Street
Fitchburg, MA 01420

Payment plan options are available; ask the Access Services Librarian, Interlibrary Loan Assistant or Circulation/Reserves Assistant for more information.

Fine & Fee Rates

Overdue Late Charge (except Course Reserves) -- Flat $15 processing fee per item once the system applies a "Lost" status to the item
Overdue Late Charge for Course Reserve Items -- $2.00 per day, per item

Damaged and Lost Fees:

  • Audio CD Collection-- Replacement Cost (Default is $20 per single CD if no longer available)
  • Children's Literature -- Replacement Cost (Default is $20 if not in print)
  • DVD/Video Collection -- Replacement Cost (Default is $20 if not in print)
  • General and Center for Italian Culture Collections -- Replacement Cost (Default is $40 if not in print)
  • Over Sized Collection -- Replacement Cost (Default is $40 if not in print)
  • Young Adult Literature -- Replacement Cost (Default is $20 if not in print)
Processing Fee -- $15 Processing Fee will be added for each Damaged and Lost Fee assessed
Bad Check Fee -- $30

 Thesis Binding

  • Undergraduate Students - $11/copy, no minimum number of copies required. Binding is optional, not required.

 

  • Graduate Students - $11/copy, minimum of three copies required, if done through the library's bindery service. Refer to the Thesis Handbook for specific Requirements for Paper and Production (p. 7).
    1. copy placed in the Library's Archives & Special Collections
    2. copy sent to the student's Academic Department
    3. student's copy