Located in the University Archives and Special Collections, the Center for Italian Culture (CIC) archival collection consists of donated materials from individuals, families, and organizations, and presents archival documents and artifacts related to the history of Italian-Americans in New England, with a particular focus on Central Massachusetts.
The CIC archival collection includes both physical items as well as digitized materials. You can explore the digitized portion of the collection anytime through the University Archives' Digital Archive. The physical collection is accessible to any member of the University community, including alumni as well as visiting scholars and the general public. The University Archives are located on the Street Level of Hammond Hall, Room S03. Visits to the Archives are by appointment only Monday through Friday, 8:30am-4:30pm. Please note that evening or weekend hours can be arranged with advance notice. Contact the Archivist, Asher Jackson, at ajacks19@fitchburgstate.edu or (978) 665-4869.
The collection includes both physical items as well as digitized materials. Where possible, it is noted when an item is physical or digital.
On this guide, you'll find the following pages:
Italian-American Archival Collections: Documentation of all of the collections in the University's Archives and Special Collections dedicated to preserving the history of Italian American life in the greater Fitchburg Area.
Italian-American Heritage and Culture Month: A digital exhibit curated by Ross Caputi in collaboration with the Fitchburg Historical Society in honor of Italian-American Heritage and Culture Month. The exhibit is entitled "Hyphenated Citizen: The Italian."
Study Abroad Programs 2001-Present: A selection of photos of students enjoying their CIC-sponsored study abroad programs to Italy over the years.