Skip to main content

Using New RefWorks

Resources to help you use the New RefWorks reference management tool provided by the Amelia Galluci Cirio Library.

Share citations and Collaborate

You can share your RefWorks library or specific folders within your library with friends, colleagues, and more.

Share bibliographies with an entire class, with individual students, with research partners, project teams, clubs, or any group or individual you are collaborating with.

How to Share Your Collections

1. Click the Share & Export icon  or the Sharing menu item to start

2. Select the collection to be shared and the groups with whom you will share it.

3. Type the email address of the person (add one at a time) and select the level of access for the person you're inviting:

  • Read – view items and read documents
  • Annotate – view items, read documents, and annotate documents
  • Modify – view/read/annotate documents, edit existing annotations, add documents, remove documents, and add a note to an item

  1. Optionally, add a personal note
  2. Click Share Collection

The person you've invited will get an email notification, and a notification inside RefWorks, where they can accept (or reject) the invitation. If the person doesn’t have a RefWorks account, they will be asked to create one.

Remember, when you share a collection any sub-collections are also shared.


Viewing a collection's sharing status

To view what collections you have shared, look for the sharing icon next to the collection name.

By selecting Sharing Settings from the menu, you can access the settings for your shared collection to modify them.

 

In the Sharing Settings you can also:

  • change the sharing from "private" to "institution" (which gives everyone in your institution access to your collection)
  • change individual access levels at any time after inviting someone
  • remove individuals from your collection by clicking the 'x' to the right of each address in the list

 

Collaborating with others in Google Docs

Google makes it easy to collaborate with others on your paper.  Now you can take that a step further, by collaborating with other RefWorks users!

Share your document with anyone who has a RefWorks account and in addition to adding and editing text to your document, they can also add in-text citations and footnotes from their RefWorks account.   

There are two ways you can share your document with others.

To share your document with someone who does NOT have a RefWorks account

1.  Click the share icon ‚Äč.

2.  Enter the email address of the person you want to share with

3. The person will receive an email with a link to create a RefWorks account and then access your document with the “can edit” permission (you can modify the permission by clicking on the Share button and selecting “can comment” or “can view”)

You can even collaborate using the same set of references by sharing your RefWorks collection with your collaborators.  Read more about sharing a collection.

Note:  Anyone you share with can also delete in-text citations you included in your document however, they cannot delete references from your RefWorks account.


To share your document with someone who has a RefWorks account:

1. Click the Share button  in the upper right-hand corner.  The “Share settings” box will open with access to several options:

 

2. Via the Advanced settings you can change the access setting if desired (the default setting is “specific people”).

The Change link will allow you to modify how your document is shared.

  1. Enter the email addresses of the people you wish to share the document with.  If they do not have a RefWorks account, they will be asked to create one.

You can even collaborate using the same set of references by sharing your RefWorks collection with your collaborators.  Read more about sharing a collection.

Note:  Anyone you share with can also delete in-text citations you’ve included in your document, however, they cannot delete references from your RefWorks account.