Skip to main content

Using New RefWorks

Resources to help you use the New RefWorks reference management tool provided by the Amelia Galluci Cirio Library.

Adding Citations to RefWorks

"Direct export" from databases: Many databases provide a "direct export" function that allows you to add a citation or group of citations found in a database directly to RefWorks without having to save any files to import manually. To use direct export:

 

  • Mark/tag or save to folder the citations you want to add to RefWorks.
  • Find and click on the Save, Export, Send to, or Download link or icon in the database (these options are different across our databases), then choose the "Direct Export to RefWorks" or "Save to RefWorks" option.

  • The RefWorks login screen will appear. Login to your RefWorks account.
  • RefWorks will display the message "Importing references, please wait...", and when finished will display "Import completed - [x] reference(s) imported," and a View Last Imported Folder link. You can then move the citation(s) into a folder of your choice in RefWorks.

RefWorks has a feature called AccuCite which allows you to pick a potential output style (i.e. APA, MLA, Chicago) when entering or editing a reference.  This feature will display recommended fields related to the selected output style so you will know exactly what fields should be used to create the most accurate bibliography entry.

To manually add a new reference:

  1. Click the Add button select Create New Reference.

 

2. Under Ref Type, select the reference type you want to add.

  1. Each reference type has been assigned fields (e.g., Author and Periodical, Full name) that are appropriate for that particular type. When you select a reference type, the remaining fields change. The active fields, those that have been assigned to the selected Ref Type, appear at the top of the list in black type.  Enter information in the fields displayed.

  2. Under Add to folder, select the folder or folders where you want to store your reference.  The folder name(s) will be displayed below the drop-down after you select them.

    Note:  If you do not select a folder, the reference is placed in your main database and is considered unfiled (accessed by searching, by clicking on the link in the  Folders area that indicates how many unfiled records you have or by selecting View, View Folder, Not in Folder).

Note:  Files cannot be attached until after the reference is saved.  For details on attaching files, click here.

Click on Additional Fields to:

  1. Determine if your reference is for a Print or Electronic source in the Source Type drop-down.  The source type tells the output style which fields of data to use in your bibliography.

  2. Select the Output Language.  The Output Language should reflect the language the reference is entered or typed in within your database.  By making a selection from the Output Language drop-down, RefWorks may apply special handling and formatting for a bibliography which is very important in multi-language bibliographies.   

 


Drag and Drop Citations

You can drag and drop a document (.pdf, .doc, etc.) directly into the Upload document box to upload an existing MS Office, Open Office or .pdf file from your computer. Only 1 document per item allowed. 

From the second option, you can also import a set of references from a text file in the formats offered. On the resulting page, you will able to click and drag the file onto the page to begin importing.

Using Create new reference you can manually enter your bibliographic data or click and drag a file to be imported as well.

Tip:  If you have multiple documents to add to RefWorks, you can select and drag them all at once. RefWorks will create separate items for each.

Regardless of which option you choose, RefWorks uses its document recognition feature to attempt to auto-complete the reference fields on the page.  RefWorks’s document recognition feature is compiled from a combination of authoritative citation sources, ProQuest databases, and end-user generated content and is continually revised and optimized to deliver the best possible results. 

You can change the reference type, manually edit the reference fields and additional fields can be added using the Add more fields drop down box at the bottom of the page. 

If you do not have a file to upload, simply populate the blank fields by typing in the necessary information.


Details of Special Handling & Formatting:

Special handling and formatting occurs only when you are formatting a paper using Write-N-Cite, One Line/Cite View, Manual Entry or from the Bibliography area of RefWorks.  It does not occur when using the Print feature in RefWorks or when sorting references for viewing within your RefWorks database.

Currently, only certain languages have special formatting and handling:  English, Catalan, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish.  

RefWorks has an easy to use tool that installs in any web browser called “Save to RefWorks”. The Save to RefWorks browser bookmarklet grabs information from any web page – in some cases a complete article – and adds it to your RefWorks library. 

To add the Save to RefWorks bookmarklet to your browser:

  1. Click on your name in the upper right-hand corner and select “Tools”.

2. Click Install Save to RefWorks.

3. Simply drag the Save to RefWorks bookmarklet to your browser's Favorites bar.

 4. Once you’ve installed it, go to any web page and click Save to RefWorks to capture the information.  

You can save a set of search results or an individual article - the choice is yours.  You can easily edit meta-date prior to importing into RefWorks and in some cases even grab the full-text. Results vary by site.


To save a single article or citation:

  1. Navigate to the website or database where you want to capture the information.
  2. Click Save to RefWorks.
  3. A side-panel will open and you'll see your citation information filled in.  If RefWorks identifies full-text, you'll see an option to try to save it with your citation information.  

 

  1. Click the Save to RefWorks button to start the capture.  You can modify the citation date before it is imported.
  2. You'll receive a confirmation when the import is complete and you can click on the View in RefWorks button to review your newly capture information in your Recent collection.

 


To import multiple citations:

 

  1. Navigate to the website or database where you want to capture the information.
  2. From the search results list, click Save to RefWorks.
  3. A side-panel will open and you'll see a list of citations.  Mark the citations you want to import (or Select all).  If RefWorks identifies full-text, you'll see an option to try to save it with your citation information.  

 

  1. Click the Save to RefWorks button to start the capture.
  2. You'll receive a confirmation when the capture is complete and you can click on the View in RefWorks button to review your newly imported information in your Recent collection.  Save to RefWorks will automatically bring in any full-text it can capture.

 

 

1.  Login to RefWorks.

 

2.  Select the Citation record where you want to attach your PDF. Click on the pencil to open the edit options.

 

 

3. From the database you found the article, click on the PDF, and download it to your computer.

 

 

4. From RefWorks, click on Add an Attachment. Find the PDF you downloaded, then click open. Once attached, click Save to complete.

 

 

5. The full text document should now be attached to the record. A preview window of the document will now show when you select the record.

 

Exporting from Summon (Discovery System)

1.  Go to the library homepage and perform your search.

 

 

2. Select the item you want to export from the results list.

For this example, the item is “The Business of slavery and the rise of American capitalism, 1815-1860.” 

  • Click on the drop down menu at the top right hand corner. 
  • You can also select the citation style here by clicking on 
  • Select the appropriate style from the drop down menu.

 

3. After choosing the Citation Style, log into RefWorks.

 

4. To export your citation to RefWorks, click on the folder icon, your item will be added to the export folder in the upper right.

Once the folder icon is invoked, a number will appear in the upper right hand corner folder.  If you are exporting multiple sources, you will see that number.  In this example, only 1 item was exported.

 

 

5.  Click on the upper right hand corner folder, this invokes the export directly into RefWorks and brings you to the RefWorks screen.

6. RefWorks opens showing the contents of the Last Imported folder, where you can view the records imported from Summon.

7.  To return to the Summon Discovery portal, click on Back to Library Search.

Exporting from EBSCOhost databases

1.  Login to RefWorks.

2.  Connect to one of the EBSCO databases and perform your search.

3.  After clicking on an article you like, click on Export located on the right side of the page.

4. A new window should appear. From the options presented, choose Direct Export to RefWorks. Then click Save.

5. RefWorks opens showing the contents of the Last Imported folder, where you can view the records imported from EBSCO.

Exporting from ProQuest databases

1.  Login to RefWorks.

2.  Connect to one of the ProQuest databases and perform your search.

3.  After clicking on an article you like, click on Save located toward the top left side of the page.

4. A drop down menu should appear. From those choices, click RefWorks.

5.  A new box should pop up. From there, make sure Output to: is set to RefWorks. Then, click continue at the bottom of the window.

6. RefWorks opens showing the contents of the Last Imported folder, where you can view the records imported from ProQuest.

Exporting from JSTOR

1.  Login to RefWorks.

2.  Connect to the JSTOR database and perform your search.

3.  After clicking on an article you like, click on Cite this Item located above the PDF window toward the left.

4.  A new box should pop up. From there, click on the Export to RefWorks Option.

5. RefWorks opens showing the contents of the Last Imported folder, where you can view the records imported from JSTOR.

Exporting from LexisNexis

1.  Login to RefWorks.

2.  Connect to the LexisNexis Academic database and perform your search.

3.  After clicking on an article you like, click on Export Bibliographic References located above the article toward the left.

4.  A new box should pop up. From there, make sure the Export Using RefWorks Option is selected, then click Export.

5. RefWorks opens showing the contents of the Last Imported folder, where you can view the records imported from LexisNexis.

Exporting from PubMed Databases

1.  Login to RefWorks.

2.  Go to PubMed and perform your search.

3.  After finding an article you like, go back to the main results page to click the check box of any articles you want cited. Then click Send to at the top right of the results page & select Clipboard. Afterwards, you can click on Clipboard  to double check your selections.

4. Next to Clipboard, click on Send to again, but this time select File and choose the MEDLINE format, then Create File.

5.  A pop up box should appear. Choose to save file, where it will be stored under the downloads folder of your browser.

From Within Refworks

1.  Make sure you're logged into RefWorks. Once there, hover over References in the top menu bar and click on Import.

2.  Change Import Filter/Data Source to NLM PubMed.

3.  Next to Select Text File click Browse. Go the the Downloads folder and select the text file that you downloaded from PubMed.

4. Citations should then immediately upload into the Last Imported folder in RefWorks.

Exporting from Google Scholar

1.  Go to scholar.google.com

2.  Click on the icon on the far lef to the page to open the main menu. Click on Setting which will be on the bottom of that list.

3.  Under "Bibliography manager", select Show links to import citations into and select RefWorks from the drop-down menu. Click on Save at the bottom of the screen.

4.  Now, rerform your search in Google Scholar. You should now see a link named Import into RefWorks at the bottom of each search result. Click on it to begin exporting that specific article to your RefWorks account.

5. RefWorks opens showing the contents of the Last Imported folder, where you can view the records imported from Google Scholar.

Exporting from WorldCat

Go to https://fitchburgstate.worldcat.org/

1. Perform a search in Worldcat.

2. After cliking on an item you like, click on Cite/Export located toward the top right of the page. A new window should pop up. Under Export a Citation choose Export to Refworks.

3. RefWorks opens showing the contents of the Last Imported folder, where you can view the records imported from EBSCO.