Skip to main content

Using New RefWorks

Resources to help you use the New RefWorks reference management tool provided by the Amelia Galluci Cirio Library.

What is Write-N-Cite?

Using the RefWorks Write-N-Cite tool, you can easily cite references from your RefWorks library as you write your research paper or other document.

You can also find further information at FAQ's for Write-N-Cite

 

Or use this document to install and follow the steps to creating a bibliography and in-text citations.

Download and Install Write-N-Cite for Word

First you will need to download Write-N-Cite and install the program before you can start using it.

To download and install Write-N-Cite, point your browser to the Write-N-Cite download and installation page, download the version of Write-N-Cite corresponding to the kind of computer you are using (PC or MAC) and what version of Microsoft Word you are using, and follow the links to the installation instructions provided.

Once you have downloaded the tool, you will need to log into RefWorks


Tip:  In most cases, there is no need to log out of Write-N-Cite when you are not using it.   If you are using Write-N-Cite for Windows on a public computer without a personal login, you should log out of Write-N-Cite when you complete your work.  If someone does gain access to a system with your RefWorks account logged in to Write-N-Cite, they will not be able to change anything in your account since Write-N-Cite doesn’t have any features to edit your database.

Logging In To Write-N-Cite for Windows:

1. Click RefWorks from the Microsoft Word ribbon. ProQuest for Word users will see ProQuest
listed instead of RefWorks.  

2. In the Settings area, click Log In.

 3. If you know your organization’s group code, enter it and your RefWorks username and password.

4. ProQuest for Word users -- click "RefWorks" and then enter your RefWorks log-in credentials.  You'll see the tab in Word change from ProQuest to RefWorks.

 

 

If you do not know your group code, you can obtain a Login Code by navigating in RefWorks to the Tools, Write-N-Cite page.  A unique code is displayed for you and is valid for four hours.  This Login Code replaces the need for your username and password.

Note:  You do not need to obtain a new login code every time you use Write-N-Cite.  You only need a new login code if you have logged out of Write-N-Cite.

The first time you log in to Write-N-Cite, it will automatically “sync” with your RefWorks account.  This may take a few seconds. It is downloading your references, folders and preferred output styles.  Any time you make changes to your RefWorks references you can click Sync my Database in the Extras area and your new and edited references will be included in your account.   

During this period, you can still access all of Word’s functionality, but the Write-N-Cite functions will not become active until syncing has finished.


 

Using Write-N-Cite

After downloading the proper file from the download page…

5.  Make sure Microsoft Word is not running.

6.  Windows users - confirm that you have all recent Windows and Office updates from Microsoft’s Update tool.

7.  Run the downloaded .exe or .dmg file.  If you are on a multi user system you will need to be an Administrator to install Write-N-Cite.

8.  Follow the steps of the installer.  You may be prompted to install pre-requisites before the Write-N-Cite install begins

9.  When the installer has completed open Microsoft Word.  You will see a new ProQuest tab in your Ribbon.

PQFW_Ribbon.jpg

10. In the Settings area, click Log In.

PQFW_login1.jpg

11. Click on either RefWorks or Flow to display the appropriate login page (the product in grey is what you are logging in to).

RWFlow_choice.jpg 

For RefWorks, enter RefWorks username and password or obtain a Login Code by navigating in RefWorks to the Tools, Write-N-Cite page.  A unique code is displayed for you and is valid for four hours.  This Login Code replaces the need for your username and password.  If you use your institution's credentials (Athens or Shibboleth) to log in to RefWorks, you MUST copy and use this code to log in to ProQuest for Word.

Note: You do not need to obtain a new login code every time you use ProQuest for Word.  You only need a new login code if you have logged out of ProQuest for Word.

Once you have logged in, the tab in the Word ribbon will change to say "RefWorks" or "Flow" depending on what you have logged in to and will function like Write-N-Cite and Flow for Word.  Click here for information on how to use Write-N-Cite 4.

The first time you log in to ProQuest for Word, it will automatically “sync” with your RefWorks account.  This may take a few seconds. It is downloading your references, folders and preferred output styles.  Any time you make changes to your RefWorks references you can click Sync my Database in the Extras area and your new and edited references will be included in your account.   

During this period, you can still access all of Word’s functionality, but the ProQuest for Word functions will not become active until syncing has finished.

Note:  After installing and logging in, there’s no need to log out when using your personal computer.  Your account will stay tied to the computer across sessions until you choose to log out.


Step 2.  Selecting Your Output Style

The first thing you will want to do is select an output style for your document.  Any in-text citations or footnotes and your bibliography will be displayed in your document while you write your paper – in the output style you have selected.  You can always change the style later if you need to.

1. Click the Style drop down.  You will see a list of RefWorks’ popular styles.

2. Click on the style name or click Select Other Style at the bottom of the list to see your personal “favorites” or any output styles recommended by your organization (group favorites).

3. You can change your output style and the formatting of your paper at any time by clicking on Style and selecting a new output style.

 

Note:  if the output style you need for your paper is NOT in listed in the popular styles, favorites or group favorites, you will need to log in to your RefWorks account and add it using the Output Style Manager.  Once you add the style, you may need to sync Write-N-Cite to download the new style.  Click Sync My Database in the Extras area of Write-N-Cite to download the newly added style.


Step 3.  Write Your Paper and Inserting Citations or Footnotes and Your Bibliography

Note:  You may want to sync your RefWorks database with Write-N-Cite if you have recently added references you want to use in your paper.  Click the Sync my database icon to download new or updated references and output styles.

When you are ready to insert an in-text citation or footnote into your paper:

1.  Click the Insert Citation and Insert New option to launch the insert/edit citation box.  If you have previously used Write-N-Cite, you may see some recently selected citations listed above the Insert New option.   You can select citations displayed from this list or access all your references from the Insert New option.

2. Once the Insert/Edit Citation box displays, you can access references by folder search for a specific reference.  The search box will search every field of every reference.  You can use “AND” and “OR” when using the search box.

Tip: Use the horizontal scroll bar to see the full title of a reference.  Right-clicking on the reference and choosing the item from the context menu will display the complete record (file attachments are not displayed).

Full Reference View:

3. Click on the reference you wish to insert into your paper.  You will see a preview of the formatted citation in your current Output Style.

4. Click OK to insert your formatted citation into your paper.

Tip:  To add a second references in a single citation, click the + button in the Compose Citation area and then select the reference from your list.

5. To insert a footnote instead of an in-text citation, click the Make Footnote checkbox in the Edit Reference area.  Once you make a footnote and finish editing the citation, you will not be able to undo this action.  However, you can always add a new in-text citation.

6. You can insert your bibliography anywhere in your paper while you are writing.  Click Bibliography Options, Insert Bibliography.  Note:  the bibliography will be inserted wherever the cursor is in your paper.  You can click Remove Bibliography and re-insert if it you need to change the location.

 

Step 4. Save your formatted paper (you should really save it periodically while you are writing!).

 

 

Google Docs Add-On

RefWorks offers two optional tools to help you write your paper Write-n-Cite (which works with Microsoft Word) and the RefWorks Add-on for Google Docs (which is covered in this article).  You can also create a simple bibliography from your references right in your RefWorks account.  

Any additions, changes or deletions you make in your RefWorks account are automatically synched with the Google Docs Add-on. 

Note:  Changes are NOT made to any in-text citations or the bibliography in your document.

Installing the Google Docs Add-on for RefWorks

  1. Open a blank document and select “Add-ons”, “Get Add-ons” and search for “ProQuest RefWorks”.  Once you find it, just click on the “free” button to add it.

 

     2.  You’ll be asked to “accept” certain conditions of using the add-on:

   3.  Once you have accepted the conditions, you’re brought into your new document and are ready to start writing your paper. 


Working with the ProQuest RefWorks Add-on for Google Docs

  1. Start writing and when you are ready to insert your first citation, select “Add-ons”, “ProQuest RefWorks”, “Manage Citations”. 

 

2.  If this is your first time using the RefWorks add-on, you’ll be asked to log in to your RefWorks account.  If you do not have a RefWorks account, you can sign up and receive access.  You should have an affiliation with an academic institution and use your institutional email address to register.  Once you’ve logged in, you don’t need to log out unless you’re on a public computer.

3. The right-hand pane will change, defaulting to your RefWorks “All references” view.

 

4.  If you want to work with a RefWorks collection of references, just click on “All references” to see your list of collections.  Choose the collection with the references you need for your paper.  You can also use the “search” option to search for specific references.  The search options searches all fields.

5.  You can start writing your paper and when you are ready to cite a reference in RefWorks, click on the citation and click the “cite this” button.  The in-text citation will be inserted (using the last output style you used in RefWorks).

6.  There is also a citation editing option.  Click “Edit and Cite” to add page numbers, hide the author name, or hide the publication year in your in-text citation (dependent upon the output style you are using).   You will also see a preview of the in-text citation and your bibliography entry.

Continue to add citations and watch your bibliography update right in front of you. 

You can also add footnotes (make sure your output style supports them!) by using Google Docs footnote option (Insert, Footnote):


Changing your output style

There are two ways you can change your output style for your paper:

  1.  In the RefWorks pane in your document, click on the “options” icon  and select “Change citation style”

2.  Or you can select any reference from the list and click the “Cite and Edit” button and change the style:

Note:  Custom output styles are currently not accessible.

Deleting or changing citations

  1. Highlight the citation you wish to delete and use the backspace key or delete key to remove it.
  2. Insert the new citation (if applicable).
  3. Click on the “options” icon  and select “Update document”.  Your document will refresh and the bibliography entry will be removed or updated (if you added a replacement citation).

 

Any additions, changes or deletions you make in your RefWorks account are automatically synched with the Google Docs Add-on.

Note:  changes are NOT made to any in-text citations or the bibliography in your document.


Collaborating with others

Google makes it easy to collaborate with others on your paper.  Now you can take that a step further, by collaborating with other RefWorks users!

Share your document with anyone who has a RefWorks account and in addition to adding and editing text to your document, they can also add in-text citations and footnotes from their RefWorks account.   

There are two ways you can share your document with others.

To share your document with someone who does NOT have a RefWorks account

1.  Click the share icon ‚Äč.

2.  Enter the email address of the person you want to share with

3. The person will receive an email with a link to create a RefWorks account and then access your document with the “can edit” permission (you can modify the permission by clicking on the Share button and selecting “can comment” or “can view”)

You can even collaborate using the same set of references by sharing your RefWorks collection with your collaborators.  Read more about sharing a collection.

Note:  Anyone you share with can also delete in-text citations you included in your document however, they cannot delete references from your RefWorks account.

To share your document with someone who has a RefWorks account:

  1. Click the Share button  in the upper right-hand corner.  The “Share settings” box will open with access to several options:

2.  Via the Advanced settings you can change the access setting if desired (the default setting is “specific people”).

 

The Change link will allow you to modify how your document is shared.

 

 

  1. Enter the email addresses of the people you wish to share the document with.  If they do not have a RefWorks account, they will be asked to create one.

You can even collaborate using the same set of references by sharing your RefWorks collection with your collaborators.  Read more about sharing a collection.

Note:  Anyone you share with can also delete in-text citations you’ve included in your document, however, they cannot delete references from your RefWorks account.

Using Write-N-Cite Offline

Using Write-N-Cite 4 Offline:

Write-N-Cite 4 works the same whether you are online or offline.   There is no difference in functionality except you will lack the ability to sync Write-N-Cite with your RefWorks account when you are offline.

To learn how to use Write-N-Cite 4, click here.