Skip to main content

Using Zotero

Zotero is a free citation management tool.You can use Zotero to collect, manage and cite your research resources. You can also create collections/libraries for specific research projects, share data with collaborators, and generate bibliographies.

Bibliographies in Zotero

Zotero will work with Microsoft Word and LibreOffice/OpenOffice/NeoOffice to create bibliographies and insert in-text citations into your manuscript. 

To help you get started here are links to pages within this guide on using Zotero with word processors:

Creating a Bibliography

Creating stand-alone bibliographies on a PC and Mac

 

Right Click on a Citation or List of Citations (Shift & Down Arrow to highlight the ones you want)

To create a bibliography or a citations list in Zotero, highlight one or more references and then right-click (or control-click on Macs) to select “Create Bibliography from Selected Item(s)…”. Then select a citation style for your citation/bibliography format and choose either to create a list of Citations/Notes or a Bibliography. Then choose one of the following four ways to create your citation/bibliography:

For PC

 

For Mac

 

2. Choose the Citation Style and Copy to Clipboard for pasting into a document or email.

 

 

3. Paste into the document. 

 

Creating stand-alone bibliographies on a PC and Mac

  • Save as RTF will allow you to save the bibliography as a rich text file.
  • Save as HTML will allow you to save the bibliography as a HTML file for viewing in a web browser. This format will also embed metadata allowing other Zotero users viewing the document to capture bibliographic information.
  • Save to Clipboard will allow you to save the bibliography to your clipboard to paste into any text field.
  • Print will send your bibliography straight to a printer.
Quick Copy
You can also use Quick Copy keyboard shortcuts to copy citations and bibliographies to your system clipboard and then paste them into documents. See the Shortcut Keys preference pane for the default keys.
Or drag and drop the citation(s) by clicking one ones you have selected in the center panel and drag them into a text field.
Zotero will automatically create a formatted bibliography for you. To copy citations instead of references, hold down Shift at the start of the drag.