Skip to main content

Research in Education (Extended Campus - Catherine Leahy-Brine)

This guide is for students enrolled at Fitchburg State through the Catherine Leahy-Brine extended campus program.

Within a Database

Most databases provide access to at least some full-text items that you can immediately access from your results page. Simply look for a full-text link and click on it to access the item. The location and name of the link varies depending on the database you are in and whether you are looking at the results list or have clicked on the item's title to see more information. On the results list, most links are located underneath the item or next to it. Here are some of the variations you may see:

  • Full Text
  • HTML
  • PDF
  • Available Online
  • Linked full text

If full text for the item is not available in that database, you should see a link that lets you request the item instead. The name of this link also varies depending on the database you are in. Here are some of the variations you may see:

  • Get Article
  • Find Article
  • Get Copy

Clicking on that link activates the Library's Journal Locator tool embedded into the database and will search all of the library's resources (without you having to type in the journal name) to see if the full item is available in one of our other online or print collections. If it is, you will then see a link to connect to that online database or e-journal that will take you to the article. If we have it only in our print collection, simply use ILLiad to request a PDF copy (if copyright allows) or to have the items sent to you. If it's not available in any of our collections, use ILLiad to request it from another library.

Understanding Citations & Using Them to Find the Original Source

if you have a citation from your professor or from a footnote or a bibliography in another source, the citation should provide all the information you need to find it, even when it is in a citation style you don't know. A citation contains nuggets of information that usually identify:

  • Author/creator
  • Title
  • Publication/production information
    • Books will include the publisher and publisher's location
    • Articles will have a journal title and volume number. They may also have an issue number and page numbers.
  • Other information included changes depending on the type of source and the citation style used.
    • For instance books might have an editor listed, articles might have a DOI number, online documents and digital images might have a web address, etc.

You can use these nuggets to quickly track it down. Here are some citation examples and tips for quickly checking to see if we have it:

Article citations - Identify the title of the Journal, then use our Journal Locator Tool to see if we have it. (Using the Journal Locator Tool). Below is an APA and an MLA citation for the same article showing where you will find the journal title and other nuggets of information.

APA

Image of an APA article citation.
MLA

Image of an MLA article citation.

Book citations - Identify the title of the book and type it into the Library Catalog's search box or our Resource Search box on the library's home page. Below is an APA and an MLA citation for the same book showing where you will find the book title and other nuggets of information.

APA

Image of APA book citation.
MLA

Image of MLA book citation.

Journal Locator Search Tool

Type in the name of a journal to see if the AVGC Library has access to it online or in our print collection:

 

 

Google Scholar


How-to Guide:

ILLiad: Get Articles from Another Library