Skip to main content

Embedding Library & Open Resources

Streaming Audio Databases

The library subscribes to several streaming music databases from Alexander Street Press.

How to Locate Streaming Audio Databases on the library's A-Z Database List

1). Search a streaming audio database directly. Access the library's A-Z Databases list at http://fitchburgstate.libguides.com/az.php and change the All Databases Type filter to Streaming Audio, then select a database to search.

Screen shot of the library's A to Z database list filtered by database type = streaming music.

Searching in Jazz Music Library

Jazz Music Library provides three easy search options:

  1. Browse by categories such as Titles or Instruments, by Genre or by Performers/Ensembles.
  2. Search box - enter keywords
  3. Click on a featured album cover or performer

Screen shot of the Jazz Music Library database's search page.

1). Browsing by categories lets you drill down through a series of options to get to a narrowed results list. This example shows the Browse function if you were to click on Instruments, then click on Electronic, then click on Keyboard to see a results list containing 198 items.

Screen shot of browse by instrumentoption in Jazz Music Library database.

2). Using keywords in the search box. Type in one or more keywords and hit the search icon. In this example we searched for: big band. You can then use the limit options in the left-hand column under Refine Your Search or the filter options at the top of the results list to help narrow your results. In the upper right corner are options to sort your results.

Screen shot of search in Jazz Music Library using the search box.

3). Click on a featured album cover or performer. You can then use the limit options in the left-hand column under Refine Your Search to help narrow your results. In the upper right corner are options to sort your results. In this example we clicked on Billie Holiday.

Screen shot of results list in Jazz Music Library after clicking on Featured Performer Billie Holliday.

Searching in Music & Performing Arts

Music & Performing Arts provides two easy search options:

1). Search box - enter keywords

2). Browse by categories. Use the tabs to select a broad category such as Theatre and then click one of it's subcategory links. 

Screen shot of the Music & Performing Arts database's search page.

Using keywords in the search box. Type in one or more keywords and hit the search icon. In this example we searched for: herbie hancock. You can then use the limit options in the left-hand column under Refine Your Search or the filter options at the top of the results list to help narrow your results. In the upper right corner are options to sort your results.

Screen shot of search results list in the Music & Performing Arts database.

Searching in Music Online: Contemporary World Music

Music Online: Contemporary World Music provides three easy search options:

1). Browse by categories such as Titles or Instruments, by Genre or by Places.

2). Search box - enter keywords

3). Click on a featured album cover

Screen shot of the Music Online: Contemporary World Music database's search page.

Using keywords in the search box. Type in one or more keywords and hit the search icon. In this example we searched for: protest songs. You can then use the limit options in the left-hand column under Refine Your Search or the filter options at the top of the results list to help narrow your results. In the upper right corner are options to sort your results.

Screen shot of a results list in the Music Online: Contemporary World Music database.

Linking to an Album or Track in an Alexander Street Press Music Database

1). Linking to an Album or Specific Track in Blackboard

Getting the Permanent link for an album:

  • Click on an album in your results list to access the album landing page.
  • Click on the Embed/Link link under the album title and copy the URL for the Permanent Link provided by the database. The URL has the library proxy embedded into it so users will be able to access the film off-campus by entering their FSU credentials. 

Screen shot of how to access the permanent link to an album in music database.

Getting the Permanent link for a specific track from an album:

  • Click on an album in your results list to access the album landing page.
  • In the right-hand column under Tracks, scroll down to the track you want and click on it's Embed/Link icon. Copy the URL for the Permanent Link for that track provided by the database. The URL has the library proxy embedded into it so users will be able to access the film off-campus by entering their FSU credentials.

Screen shot of how to access the permanent link to a track of an album in music database.

2). Create a Web Link content item in Blackboard.

  • Go to Blackboard and under Course Documents (or content area of your choice), click on Build Content and select Web Link. 

Course Documents and Web Link highlighted

 

3). Enter the name of the album or track film and enter the Permanent URL provided by the database. Click on Submit.

Screen shot of Blackboard Web Link entry screen.

 

4). The link to the album or track is now active. Users can click on the link to go directly to the database to listen to the music.

Screen shot of Web Link content item in Blackboard.

 

Note: While the Alexander Street Press music databases provide the option to copy an embed code, it does not function well in Blackboard. Linking to the content is more efficient.