Skip to main content

Embedding Library & Open Resources

How to search for Ebooks Using Resource Search

From the Library's homepage (library.fitchburgstate.edu), enter your search terms in the Resource Search box. (Ex. Shakespeare AND women)

Search box with search terms: Shakespeare AND women

From the results page, limit to Books/E-books and Available Online. Click on Available Online to access the ebook. 

Results page limiting to Books/E-books and Available Online

Tips for Searching E-books

 Resource Search  checks for  the keywords you entered in the search box not only in the titles and abstracts but also the full-text of the entire book. This can be helpful when trying to locate relevant passages from a book or book chapters. Sometimes your results may list titles that are not relevant to your search because one of the keywords appeared in the full-text of the book  but not in the context for what you were seeking.

Search Tips for locating e-books in Resource Search. 

1. If looking for a specific title, put the title of the book in quotes.  (e.g. "Taming of the Shrew")

2. To see a list of current books published on your topic, use the date facet along the left side of the screen to narrow to the last 5 or 10 years. We do not recommend sorting by date  at the top of the screen as you will lose the relevance rankings.

Library E-book Packages

The Library subscribes to several ebook packages.  Resource Search searches all of the ebook packages simultaneously.  You can also search ebook packages individually on their native platform by using the links below..

Embedding eBooks from an EBSCO database

EBSCO eBook Highlights

The eBook Academic Collection database has ver 180,000 eBooks in the collection. Over 95% have unlimited users (more than one person can access the eBook at the same time). The eBook Collection database includes all EBSCOhost individually bought titles and all titles from the eBook Academic Collection database. Some of the EBSCO subject databases also contain eBooks.

Print restrictions apply. Number of pages that can be printed from a book vary by title but range from 10-100 pages.

An eBook can be downloaded to a computer or mobile device. Loan period is 7 days.

Adobe Digital Editions is the recommended software to view an eBook on a laptop or computer in an offline environment. Bluefire Reader is the recommended software to view an eBook on a mobile device in an offline environment. To download an eBook, users need to set up an EBSCO Account.

You can search for EBSCO eBooks using Resource Search or by searching on the EBSCO eBook collection database.

Embed a direct link to an eBook or chapter in an eBook in an EBSCO database.

You can share a link to an entire eBook or a chapter in an eBook using a permalink. For the chapter, the link is to the entire book but will jump to a specific chapter. 

To link to the entire eBook, 

1). Under Tools, click on permalink on the right side of the page. 

2). Copy the permalink URL that appears above the title.  The permalink includes the Library proxy prefix so it can be accessed by individuals off-campus with their Falcon Key credentials. 

 

To direct users to a specific chapter in an eBook:

1). Click on Table of Contents.

 

2). Click on the chapter to be used.

 

3). Click on Permalink on the toolbar towards the top of the screen & copy the URL in the Permalink box. 

Embedding eBooks from JSTOR databases

JSTOR eBook Highlights

The JSTOR eBook collections contains over 57,000 eBooks from renowned scholarly publishers, integrated with journals and primary sources on JSTOR’s easy-to-use platform. All JSTOR eBook chapters are available exclusively in a DRM-free, unlimited-user model. They work just like the journal articles on JSTOR, with unlimited simultaneous use, PDF downloads, and printing, and no need to log in or use special software and there are no limits on chapter downloads or printing.

These eBooks offer high-quality content from leading academic publishers from around the world, including university presses, public policy organizations, and independent presses.

You can search for JSTOR eBooks by searching on the JSTOR platform.

To search on JSTOR, go to the advanced search and under Narrow By check Books.

Image of JSTOR database's Advanced Search page

NOTE: JSTOR's stable URL does not include the Library proxy prefix which is needed so Fitchburg State affiliates can access the eBooks off-campus using their Falcon key credentials. You will need to append the Library proxy to the front of the URL before adding it to Blackboard or sending the link to off-campus users.

The Library's proxy prefiix  is http://ezproxy.fitchburgstate.edu:2048/login?url=

An example of a stable URL for an eBook in JSTOR is https://www.jstor.org/stable/2929597. Once you add the proxy prefix the stable URL would be http://ezproxy.fitchburgstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2929597

Linking to an eBook or eBook chapter in JSTOR

1). If results take you to the landing page for an eBook, the stable URL for the eBook is located in the middle of page. Remember to add the Proxy prefix to the front of the URL.

 

 

2). Click on a chapter title to find the stable URL for a specific chapter in an eBook. Remember to add the Proxy prefix to the front of the URL.

Adding the eBook into Your Blackboard Course

1). Go into your Blackboard course, select or create the Content Area where you want to embed the eBook. Click on the Build Content drop-down then click on Web Link under the Create column. 

Screen shot of blackboard's Web Link option under the Build Content section.

2). Add in the required information. Copy/type in the eBook title into the Name Box and paste in the perma link/stable link from the database into the URL box.

Note: Make sure the URL includes the library's Proxy prefix. Some databases include the Proxy prefix in the link they provide. For other databases, you need to add the Proxy prefix to the front of the URL the database provides.

  • The Library's proxy prefiix is http://ezproxy.fitchburgstate.edu:2048/login?url=
  • An example of a stable URL for an eBook in JSTOR is https://www.jstor.org/stable/2929597. Once you add the proxy prefix the stable URL would be http://ezproxy.fitchburgstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2929597

Screen shot of blackboard's Web Link name and URL fields.

3). Scroll down to enter additional optional information, if any, you want to add. Optional fields you can include are:

  • Description - add a description of the eBook or instructions
  • Web Link Options - indicate whether you want the link to open in a new window
  • Standard Options :
    • Permit Users to View this Context - make sure this says Yes or they won't be able to see the Web Link item.
    • Indicate if you want to track the number of views.
    • Specify date and time restrictions. Use the Display After fields to add a specific start date and time; when that date/time arrives, Blackboard will actively display the item to students to see and access. Use the Display Until to add a specific end date and time; when that date/time arrives, Blackboard will hide the item so students can no longer see or access it. 

For this example, a brief description of the eBook was added into the Description box.

undefined

4). Click the Submit button to save the Web Link.

5). You should now see the eBook Web Link item displayed. Click on the link to make sure it connects correctly. Tips:

  • Check the link from off campus to make sure it connects through the library's proxy server directly to the eBook. If it doesn't work:
    • check the link you put in the URL field to make sure it has the Proxy prefix.
    • make sure you used the database provided Perma link/stable link.
  • Use Blackboard's Student View option to make sure the student sees the item content you want them to see. If you used the Display After date restriction, you will want to remove the restriction so you can see the item displayed and then add the date restriction back on and use the Student View to make sure it currently has the eBook hidden.

In this example, the student will see the name of the eBook and the description. When they click on the item, off campus students will be prompted to login with their Falcon Key then go directly to the eBook. On campus students will connect directly to the eBook. 

Blackboard screen shot of an eBook Web Link item from the Student View.