EDUC 7645: Reading: Curriculum, Assessment, Planning, and Teaching (Benharris)

Adopting an interdisciplinary approach, Rachel M. Heydon and Luigi Iannacci shed light on the ways in which joint notions of normality and abnormality are used to pathologize childhood.

This edited collection provides an in-depth exploration of different aspects of contemporary early childhood literacy research and the implications for educational practice. Each chapter details how the research was conducted and any issues that researchers encountered in collecting data with very young children, as well as what the research findings mean for educational practice. It includes photographs of effective literacy practice, detailed explanations of research methods so the studies can be replicated or expanded upon, and key features for promoting effective literacy practice in early childhood settings. This book is an essential read for everyone who is interested in exploring the complexities and challenges of researching literacy acquisition in the youngest children.

The Routledge International Handbook of Early Literacy Education offers a pioneering overview of early literacy provision in different parts of the world and brings together interdisciplinary research evidence on effective literacy teaching to inform current and future practice and policy of early literacy. From the problem of identification of literacy difficulties in a particular learning context to supporting the provision of early literacy through digital media, the handbook deals with the major concerns and newest areas of interest in literacy research. With an international and future vision, it provides an accessible guide to the main debates and future trends in the global field of early literacy, and informs academics, policy-makers, practitioners, educators and students about innovative early literacy research methods and instruction. The three sections and 30 ground-breaking chapters reflect a conceptual framework of questions asked by scholars and educators interested in looking beyond traditional definitions of literacy. Part I provides contemporary insights collected by internationally renowned scholars on what literacy is, and what it can offer to young children in the twenty-first century. Part II is a collection of detailed portraits of 14 countries, regions or language communities, and focuses on early literacy provision, practice and policy from across the world. Part III outlines key interventions and research-endorsed practices designed to support home-school connections and children's reading and writing skills, as well as vocabulary, phonological awareness and narrative abilities, with examples drawn from various home, school and community environments. All chapters promote discussion, critical analysis and questions for reflection and are written in jargon-free language in an easy-to use themed format. This handbook is an indispensable reference guide for practising teachers and student teachers, especially those undertaking postgraduate qualifications, as well as early literacy researchers, policy-makers and school-based literacy leaders.

Feeling exhausted after guided reading? Are you working tirelessly while your students aren't even breaking a sweat? Do you ever wonder if other teachers feels the same way you do about guided reading--that it's not working the way you think it should? You are not alone. There seems to be much confusion surrounding guided reading--the term even means something different from school to school. Now you can turn to the 50 years of collective experience of authors Jan Burkins and Melody Croft to prevent guided reading from going astray in your classroom. Jan and Melody present personal clarifications, adaptations, and supports that have helped them work through their own tricky parts as they guide readers. The book's six chapters each clarify a misunderstanding about guided reading instruction in the following areas: The teacher's role and the gradual release of responsibility Instructional reading level Text gradients Balanced instruction Integrated processing Assessment With 27 strategies, you're sure to find the help you need to work through your own challenges as you guide groups of readers.

The present research consists of 45 pages, 4 chapters, 5 subchapters, 6 tables, 6 figures and 6 appendices. The author of the paper has analysed different kinds of literature, such as scientific research and publications, scientific and course books referred to the teaching reading methods and the best approaches. In his practical part of this research the author has tried to implement the most effective methods and approaches into practise. All the author's successes and failures are described, analysed and taken into consideration in this research.The author of the paper has chosen teaching reading topic because he discovered evident contradiction between a comparatively great number of English lessons: qualitative course books on one hand, and apparently poor reading skills on the other hand in elementary school. The main, positive conclusion of the research is that variations of teaching methods considerably improve reading skills, but this regularity does not always apply to the children that are having different psychological problems like shyness, diffidence, fear. At the same time a poor ability to make conclusion and poor vocabulary is the main cause of weak language comprehension and lacking reading skills.

Preschool teachers and early childhood professionals know that storybook reading is important, but they may not know how to maximize its benefits for later reading achievement. This indispensable guide presents research-based techniques for using reading aloud to intentionally and systematically build children's knowledge of print. Simple yet powerful strategies are provided for teaching preschoolers about book and print organization, print meaning, letters, and words, all while sharing engaging, commercially available books. Appendices include a detailed book list and 60 reproducibles that feature activities and prompts keyed to each text.

Transforming Early Learners into Superb Readers: Promoting Literacy at School, at Home, and within the Community aids elementary educators, reading specialists, school administrators, private and public educators, parents, and caregivers who want to help early learners become proficient readers. The early years are the most important for children, because they are the formative years, so it is vital for children to build a solid reading foundation when they are most receptive. Andrea Nelson-Royes contends that if all these individual players collectively help to develop a child's reading readiness, all children may thrive from a high-quality education and a love of literacy.