Research Help: EDUC 7645: Reading: Curriculum, Assessment, Planning, and Teaching (Benharris): Find Articles

Education Databases

The following databases are organized by how relevant they are to your area of study. Core resources are databases that are most likely to have a lot of articles because they are subject specific. Supplemental resources are databases that may have additional articles related to Education, i.e. PsycARTICLES is helpful for finding research on learning disabilities.

Core Resources

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Large comprehensive source for full-text and bibliographic material covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education.
ERIC (EBSCOhost version) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resources Information Center, is a national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement. It provides access to full text, references, citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals the majority of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to the journal literature, ERIC indexes education-related materials from a variety of sources, including scholarly organizations, professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the U.S. Department of Education and other federal agencies, and state and local agencies. Individual contributors submit conference papers, research papers, dissertations, and theses. Many of these ERIC documents provide access to full text as well.
ProQuest Education Database This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics; access to over 745 top educational publications, including nearly 600 of the titles in full text.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Descriptions and critical reviews of commercially available English language tests, including a comprehensive bibliography of all known commercially available tests that are currently in print.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a specialized collection of nearly 520 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. The Database provides some full-text articles. The TRC has minimal overlap with either the Professional Development Collection or Academic Search Premier.

Supplemental Resources

JSTOR Arts & Sciences, JSTOR Life Sciences, and JSTOR eBooks This link opens in a new window
An advanced, multidisciplinary database featuring secondary resources in history, scholarly articles, over 57,000 eBooks and other resources spanning the humanities and sciences.
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic (Now called Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal (including cases and legislation), medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
PsycARTICLES (APA: American Psychological Association) This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage on topics: emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
PsycINFO (APA: American Psychological Association) This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
SPORTDiscus With Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals. Also useful for Physical Education. (Note: 4 simultaneous users)
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive sociology research database; contains full text for books and monographs, journals and conference papers.

Find a journal!

Journals

Journal of Literacy Research
The Journal of Literacy Research (JLR) is a peer-reviewed journal that has contributed to the advancement literacy and literacy education research for over 50 years. JLR is a forum for sharing innovative research and pedagogy that considers a broad range of topics encompassing instruction and assessment, policy development, understandings of literacies, and relationships of ideology and knowledge. JLR particularly encourages papers that disrupt traditional notions of literacy and literacy instruction.
Literacy
Literacy is a refereed journal for those interested in the study and development of literacy. Its readership comprises practitioners, teacher educators, researchers and both undergraduate and graduate students. Literacy offers educators a forum for debate through scrutinising research evidence, reflecting on analysed accounts of innovative practice and examining recent policy developments.
Literacy & Numeracy Studies
Promotes research, scholarship and critical analysis of policy and practice concerning the many and complex ways that adult literacy and numeracy are implicated in the lives of young people and adults. Adult literacy and numeracy practices are locally situated, influenced by the cultures and contexts of use. What counts as reading writing and numeracy is ever changing, not least through the radical impacts of ‘new’ technologies; themselves in constant change.
Literacy Research and Instruction
Literacy Research and Instruction is an international refereed professional journal that publishes articles addressing research and instruction in reading education and allied literacy fields.
Reading Horizons
Reading Horizons: A Journal of Literacy and Language Arts is an international, peer-reviewed, open-access research journal supported by the Dorothy J. McGinnis Endowment at Western Michigan University, College of Education & Human Development. The journal publishes research-based and empirical studies in the field of language arts and literacy education.
Reading Psychology
Prepared exclusively by professionals, this refereed journal publishes original manuscripts in the fields of literacy, reading, and related psychology disciplines. Articles appear in the form of completed research; practitioner-based "experiential" methods or philosophical statements; teacher and counselor preparation services for guiding all levels of reading skill development, attitudes, and interests; programs or materials; and literary or humorous contributions.
Reading Research Quarterly
Reading Research Quarterly is the leading global journal offering multidisciplinary scholarship on literacy among learners of all ages, including the latest research studies (methods, results, effects, findings, and implications).
The Reading Teacher
The Reading Teacher (RT) provides the latest peer-reviewed, research-based best practices to literacy educators working with children up to age 12. RT’s classroom-ready articles cover topics from curriculum, instruction, and assessment to strategies for teaching diverse populations of literacy learners.