This is from part of Purdue University's Online Writing Lab. This site covers the balance between building on prior research and originality that students must reach when writing research papers. This site helps to clarify and define what is "common knowledge" and includes sections on safe practices.
MIT offers basic information on how teachers can prevent plagiarism. In addition to using tools to detect incorrect copying, find out what teachers and professors can do to prevent plagiarism in the first place.
Washington State University has an entire section on its website dedicated to plagiarism, including teaching strategies for professors. WSU notes that poorly constructed assignments can sometimes be the reason students submit low quality work or plagiarize and cheat. Educators can read more about the role of assignment design when it comes to plagiarism and what they can do help prevent academic dishonesty.
Plagiarism is a common (and often misunderstood) problem that is often the result of a lack of knowledge and skills. Plagiarism.org's mission is to support the education community with a comprehensive set of resources to help students write with integrity.
RefWorks is a web-based program that allows you to easily collect, manage, and organize all of your bibliographic citations. Fitchburg State students and faculty can obtain an institutional account for free.
Understanding “Internet Plagiarism” by Rebecca Moore Howard
Free citation manager that helps you collect, manage, and cite your research papers. Offers major citation formats including MLA, APA, Chicago, Turabian, and many more.
Articles relating to Plagiarism
Howard, R. M. (2007). Understanding “Internet plagiarism”. Computers and Composition, 24(1), 3-15. doi:10.1016/j.compcom.2006.12.005
Databases & Checks for Plagiarism
Searching databases such as Academic Search Complete and ERIC will locate articles.
ERIC, the Education Resources Information Center, is a national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement. It provides access to full text, references, citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals the majority of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to the journal literature, ERIC indexes education-related materials from a variety of sources, including scholarly organizations, professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the U.S. Department of Education and other federal agencies, and state and local agencies. Individual contributors submit conference papers, research papers, dissertations, and theses. Many of these ERIC documents provide access to full text as well.
General OneFile is a one-stop source for news and periodical articles, including most of the content across all Thomson/Gale databases. OneFile contains over 5,000 full-text periodical titles, and more than 9,200 titles in all, on a wide range of topics.
The MLA International Bibliography with Full Text combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields.
The MLA International Bibliography with Full Text is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and is international in scope. The bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. Next to basic search and advanced search, you can also search via the thesaurus: a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography. The database includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals which provides detailed information on thousands of journals and book series in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, film, rhetoric and composition, and folklore. Entries cover:
publication details
contact information
submission requirements and editorial policies
subscription terms
electronic availability and advertising
useful statistics such as circulation, average number of articles submitted and published, time from submission to decision, and time from decision to publication.
All periodicals and book series indexed in the MLA International Bibliography are listed in the directory.
