The MLA Handbook, 8th Edition was published in April 2016. Many databases and citation generators have not yet updated to the 8th edition. Please check with your instructor about which version of MLA to use in your assignments.
The core elements of any entry in the Works Cited list are shown in the chart below. The core elements are in the order in which they should appear, followed by the appropriate punctuation mark. If an element cannot be found or does not apply to the source being cited, omit that element from the entry. End the entry with a period.
Each core element is explained in detail with examples on its own page under the Works Cited Entries Core Elements dropdown menu.
Image credit: Modern Language Association. MLA core elements. 2016, www.mla.org/MLA-Style/What-s-New-in-the-Eighth-Edition.
The standard citation style guide for the humanities, especially languages and literature, is the MLA Handbook, 8th edition, 2016. The Modern Language Association of America (MLA) publishes the manual. It is commonly referred to it as the "MLA Manual" or the "MLA Handbook".
The English departments at IRSC recommend MLA format for papers written in these fields.
Two types of citations are included in most research papers: citations within the text of the document and a list of reference citations at the end of the paper.
In-text citations appear in the body of your paper. They identify your use of an idea or quotation from one of your sources. The MLA Handbook uses the author-page citation system for in-text citations.
Information about the sources you use in your work are included as a separate list at the end of the paper. The MLA Handbook suggests using the title, "Works Cited", for the list.
Any source information that you provide in an in-text citation must correspond to a source in your Works Cited page.
Read more about the changes to the new edition in this article from the Modern Language Association.
Always refer to the MLA Handbook for authorized examples of citations.
Some of the citations in this guide are taken from the MLA Handbook; others are recommendations from Fitchburg State librarians.
Always ask your instructor for specific directions pertaining to your assignment.
A copy of this manual is available at the Research Help desk.
Thank you to Indian River State College for making and sharing the template for this MLA 8th Edition Guide!
MLA Style Guide, 8th Edition LibGuide by Angie Neely-Sardon, Indian River State College is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
Based on a work at https://style.mla.org/.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at http://irsc.libguides.com/prf.php?account_id=63648.