ENGL 2210: British Literature II (Mabee)

In 850 analytical articles, this two-volume set explores the developments that influenced the profound changes in thought and sensibility during the second half of the eighteenth century and the first half of the nineteenth century. The Encyclopedia provides readers with a clear, detailed, and accurate reference source on the literature, thought, music, and art of the period, demonstrating the rich interplay of international influences and cross-currents at work; and to explore the many issues raised by the very concepts of Romantic and Romanticism.

The Reader's Guide to British History is the essential source to secondary material on British history. This resource contains over 1,000 A-Z entries on the history of Britain, from ancient and Roman Britain to the present day. Each entry lists 6-12 of the best-known books on the subject, then discusses those works in an essay of 800 to 1,000 words prepared by an expert in the field. The essays provide advice on the range and depth of coverage as well as the emphasis and point of view espoused in each publication.

This illustrated and fully updated third edition is the most authoritative and international survey of world literature in English available. Covering everything from Old English to contemporary writing from all over the English-speaking world, the new edition has been brought completely up to date with more than 280 new author entries, most of which are for living authors. The general reader will find the volume a fascinating reference to browse through and to discover many new writers and works, while students will find it an invaluable resource for daily use. Previous Edition (1994) 0-521-44086-6

Through three editions over more than four decades, The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics has built an unrivaled reputation as the most comprehensive and authoritative reference for students, scholars, and poets on all aspects of its subject: history, movements, genres, prosody, rhetorical devices, critical terms, and more. Now this landmark work has been thoroughly revised and updated for the twenty-first century.

Presents a multiplicity of authors, texts and themes gathered together into one authoritative source. The key attractions are entries on writers, entries on individual works, Biblical and mythological characters and events, literary and critical terms and movements, and entries describing historical, cultural and social events.

This reference series is broken into multiple volumes covering writers of all different styles. The DLB series provides comprehensive biographical information and bibliographic information to help you find more information on an author. Includes: Blake, Coleridge, and Wordsworth among many other English Romantic Poets.

The poets profiled in this volume were all born in 1779 or later and wrote most of their important poems between 1800 and 1840. Disillusioned with the failure of the French Revolution and the repressive political atmosphere in England, many poets, including Byron and Shelley, found England to be too confining and left for Italy. The dominant theme that emerges, is the liberation of the human spirit. In addition to addressing the uncertainties of political change--even upheaval--the second generation of British Romantic writers was also conscious of a debt to the preceding generation. They were not, however, content to imitate earlier poets; they felt the need to define themselves as personally, morally, politically or artistically superior to them. 22 entries include: George Gordon, Lord Byron, John Clare, Hartley Coleridge, George Darley, Ebenezer Elliott, Thomas Hood, Leigh Hunt, John Keats, John Herman, Merivale, Thomas Moore, Percy Bysshe Shelley and Henry Kirke White.

This reference series is an excellent resource for learning more about the writer you plan on researching from an authoritative source. In addition to biographical content, you will find literary criticism from the writer's contemporaries to current evaluations and analyses of poetical works by the author. Suggested reading is listed at the end of every entry in this series.

Volume 28 is a topics volume from this reference series. Pages 201-327 are devoted to the discussion of English Romantic Poetry. At the end of the section is a list of suggested sources AKA a bibliography.

The contents include a chapter on the Romantic Movement and chapters on Wordsworth, Coleridge, Byron, Shelley, and Keats reflecting the perspectives on Romanticism and literary studies from the early 1970s.

A bibliography of poetry explication including poets, Coleridge, Blake, Keats, Shelley, Wordsworth.

The purpose of this reference book is to provide an introduction to the work of British writers who made significant contributions to English literature and to give students the means to pursue the subject further. Included Authors: Wordsworth, Coleridge, Byron, Shelley, Keats, and more.

William Blake, poet, artist, and mystic, created a vast multidimensional universe through his verse and art. Spun from a fabric of symbolism and populated by a host of complex characters, Blake's comprehensive world has provided endless inspiration to subsequent generations. For the reader of Blake, background knowledge of his symbolism is a necessity. In this volume, first published in 1965, S. Foster Damon, father of modern Blake studies and a professor at Brown University until his death, has assembled all references to particular symbols or aspects of Blake's work and life, so that readers can see the entire spectrum of Blake's thought on a variety of topics.

This bibliography is unlikely to be a treasure trove of information but it may point you to some of the seminal works about Keats that you should know about.