Research Help: Foreign Languages Research Guide: French

French Dictionaries & Resources

Collins French Dictionary Plus by Glasgow : Collins
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781849722414
Publication Date: 2007
Harper Collins Robert French College Dictionary by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd. Staff
Call Number: Ref. PC2640.C687 2003
ISBN: 0060515333
Publication Date: 2006
The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary by Marie-Helene Correard (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. PC2640.O83 1997
ISBN: 0198600682
Publication Date: 1997

Online Translators

These tools can translate entire blocks of text, but beware - they don't always produce proper grammar!

Forvo Pronunciation Wiki

Database Tools

Some of the library databases come with built in tools to focus your search.

EBSCO Language Interface
Learn how to choose the language of your results in EBSCO's databases.

LEXIS-NEXIS Academic (Now called Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Can sort News and other results by language and country of origin.

Distributed Learning - Additional Library Services

Distributed learning library services are the same on campus services (borrowing materials, interlibrary loan, library instruction, reference, reserves, etc.) tailored to meet the needs of our students & faculty in our extended campus and online courses and programs.This includes document delivery directly to your home and much more.

Detailed information...

Online Dictionaries and Additional Resources

Thought Co.: Learning and Teaching French
French study tips, a language blog, audio files, and more.

The ARTFL Project: University of Chicago
The Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language.
BBC Languages French Quick Fix
Download and listen to mp3 recordings of simple French phrases
The Free Dictionary: French
Houghton Mifflin French Resource Center
LanguageGuide.org - French
LingQCentral Francais
Learn French from real conversations with podcasts, transcripts, and vocabulary tools at LingQ.com
WordReference
Free online translation dictionary.

Conjugate Verbs Online

Type a French verb in the box

From Verbix

French Newspapers

ABYZ News Links
Newspaper and new media links by region and country.
Le Monde
Le Parisien
Online Newspapers.com: France
A complete list of French newspapers online.