Research Help: Foreign Languages Research Guide: Chinese

Chinese Dictionaries & Resources

A New English-Chinese Dictionary by Ge Chuan-Gui (Compiled by)
Call Number: PL1455.N45 1988

ISBN: 0295966092

Publication Date: 1988
Oxford Beginner's Chinese Dictionary by Oxford Dictionary (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. PL1455.O925 2006

ISBN: 9780199298532

Publication Date: 2006
Oxford Chinese Dictionary by Oxford Dictionaries Staff
Call Number: Ref. PL1455.O88 2010

ISBN: 9780199207619

Publication Date: 2010

Chinese Word of the Day

Chinese Word of the Day
This site provides a Chinese word and character per day.

Online Translators

These tools can translate entire blocks of text, but beware - they don't always produce proper grammar!

Google Translate
Translate words, phrases, sentences using Google's translation program.
Cambridge Dictionary Translator

Database Tools

Some of the library databases come with built in tools to focus your search.

EBSCO Language Interface
Learn how to choose the language of your results in EBSCO's databases.

LEXIS-NEXIS Academic (Now called Nexis Uni)
Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal (including cases and legislation), medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.

Distributed Learning - Additional Library Services

Distributed learning library services are the same on campus services (borrowing materials, interlibrary loan, library instruction, reference, reserves, etc.) tailored to meet the needs of our students & faculty in our extended campus and online courses and programs. This includes document delivery directly to your home and much more.

Detailed information...

Online Dictionaries and Additional Resources

Thought Co.About.com: Learning and Teaching Mandarin
Mandarin Chinese study tips, a language blog, audio files, and more
BBC Languages Chinese Quick Fix
Download and listen to mp3 recordings of essential phrases in Chinese
Chinese-English | English Chinese On-Line Dictionary
Free online Chinese-English and English-Free online Chinese-English and English-Chinese dictionary in both simplified and traditional characters. Can be a bit confusing to use, but very informative. Along with pinyin, you can also use bopomofo (ㄅㄆㄇㄈ) to find your Chinese character (click on the Dictionary link, then the Browse bopomofo link).
Chinese Tools
This site provides multiple tools to learn Chinese both language and writing. Many additional links provided for dictionaries and glossaries, as well as links about Chinese culture.
Exercises of Chinese Characters
Duke University's online guide for learning to read Chinese characters.
Forvo: Pronunciations Dictionary
Provides pronunciation for multiple languages, including Mandarin Chinese.
Learn Chinese Online | Learnalanguage.com
Use interactive flash cards and games to learn Chinese through Visual Link® Languages by the U.S. Institute of Languages (Website is supported by advertising). Additional tools are also provided to help you learn and study Chinese.
Librivox: Free Multilingual Audiobooks
Browse by language, then download the entire audiobook or listen online.
LingQ| Learn Languages On-Line
Learn Chinese from podcasts, transcripts and other tools. Each lesson has both an MP3 file, and the text, for you to download.
Mandarin Games from Hello World
Games, puzzles, flash cards and other resources in Mandarin Chinese.
Mandarin Spot
Use the Chinese Text Annotation tool to add pinyin above Chinese characters and spaces between words to your Chinese text to make it easier to read!
WordReference
Free online translation dictionary.

Chinese Newspapers

ABYZ News Links
Newspaper and new media links by region and country.
New York Times Chinese Edition
Online Newspapers.com: China
A complete list of Chinese newspapers online.