Skip to main content

EDLM/EDUC/SPED 9005: Dynamic Perspectives in Education (Day): Home

Research appointments available!

Don't overlook one of your best resources - your Gallucci-Cirio Librarians! Need help getting started, developing your search strategy, focusing your topic and selecting "keywords", deciding what type of resources you need as well as how to use them? The librarians are here to assist you whether you have a home work assignment or an indepth research project to complete. Stop by my office, call or email me any time. To ensure that I will be available, you can always schedule an appointment. The scheduler button in the right column shows my open hours when I should be available if you just want to "drop in"or use it to schedule an appointment.

  Important Forms

Getting Started Checklist

  1. Pick a topic
  2. Summarize your topic into 1 or 2 sentences
  3. Identify the main concepts
  4. Think of possible search terms
  5. Decide how to combine your search terms
  6. Select what databases and resources you want to use
  7. Consider any other criteria you want to include
  8. Connect to the database and enter your search
  9. Revise your search as you go until you are finding relevant search results

Need help with any of these steps? Ask a librarian or try the Forming Your Search Strategy worksheet in the Important Forms box below.

Get Off-campus Access to the Gallucci-Cirio Library's Resources

As a Fitchburg State faculty or student member you are issued a unique Falcon Key username and password from the Technology Department when you enroll in a course/program. Whenever you are prompted to login to the library's databases and subscription resources from off campus, use your Falcon Key to login just as you do for Blackboard.

Don't know your Falcon Key?

Students and faculty can obtain their Falcon Key account information from the Technology Help Desk; you will need to provide them with your Banner ID number.

Hint for Students Your Falcon Key usually follows this format:

  • Your username is the same as your email username (i.e. "jsmith23").  
  • Your password is usually FS-123456 (the numbers are the last six digits of your Banner ID number.

If your login doesn't work for the Library's databases, contact us at dllibrary@fitchburgstate.edu to get access to our temporary guest account while the Technolgy Help Desk staff work on your Falcon Key account.

You can access databases from the Library's website by mousing-over Research (in the top white bar) and then clicking on Databases or Research Guides. When you are off-campus and you click on the link for a database, e-journal, etc., from the library's website you will be prompted to enter your Falcon Key login information. Once you enter it you should be taken directly into that resource and can begin using it. You will only be prompted to login once for each online session.

Need help selecting a database? Research Guides provide you a list of top resources for that subject and other information to help you get started or contact the librarians for research and reference assistance. You can use the drop down lists below to select a specific database or Research Guide.

This service is useful when you have a citation for an article that you want to track down, know a specific journal that you want to use or just want to browse by subject for journals (both print and electronic) that the Gallucci-Cirio Library subscribes to. It lets you type in the name of a journal that you are looking for.

  • If we have one or more online subscriptions with full-text access available for that journal, a list of links will display with the date range of the full-text coverage each resource provides. When you click on a resource link, if you are off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your Falcon Key in order to access the full-text online.
  • If we only have the journal in print, use ILLiad to request the specific articles you would like and we will scan them into PDF files which will be posted into your ILLiad account so you can access them.
  • If we don't subscribe to the journal and you have a specific article you need, use ILLiad to request it from another library.

You can access the journal locator search tool using the link below or via the Research section of our library website.

Type in the name of a journal to see if the AVGC Library has access to it online or in our print collection:

 

 

Use the Library's discovery tool, Resource Search, on our home page to simultaneously search the Traditional Catalog, all of the databases, e-books and e-journals.

image of library home page

Use the Library's Traditional Catalog directly via the search box below or from the Research section of the library's website to locate books, CDs, and etc. that are available in the Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library. Searching is available from on and off campus with no login required unless you want to access your library catalog account or you click on an e-Book or e-Journal.

In the Gallucci-Cirio Library:

 

Use our ILLiad document delivery service to have items from our print collections as well as those we get for you from other libraries through the Interlibrary Loan service sent to you. Physical items such as books will be sent to your home via postal mail while items such as articles will be sent electronically directly into your ILLiad account as PDFs you can download. In mailing items we will incur the cost of shipping the item(s) to you; you will be responsible for the cost of shipping library items back to us and for any damaged/lost items.

Gallucci-Cirio Library-owned items and Interlibrary Loan items can be returned in person or mailed to the Gallucci-Cirio Library using the enclosed return mailing label. Any library items mailed back must be shipped in appropriate packing such as a jiffy bag to prevent the item from being damaged (ask at your local post office if you are not sure).

Note: Delivery of physical items to your home is only available to faculty teaching through extended campus or distance learning courses and students currently enrolled through a Fitchburg State extended campus or distance learning course/program.

The length of the delivery time will vary depending on the material requested and the mode of delivery available. Our goal is to ensure that you receive materials as quickly as possible.

Length of the borrowing time for physical items:

  • Circulating items for Fitchburg State-owned items:
    • Student borrowing period for most items is 28 days, plus a 7-day grace period to allow for shipping time. The library assesses a $15 processing fee per item when an overdue item is converted to a lost status by the automated system; this is a flat fee charged regardless of whether the item is returned or not. Lost and damaged fees are the cost of the item; lost fees are waived upon return of the item.
    • Faculty borrowing period for most circulating items is 6 months
  • Circulating items from other libraries vary depending on the individual library and are the same for students and faculty; we have no control over this date. The due date will be specified on each individual item. We ask that you please return Interlibrary Loan items by the due date specified or if you need it longer, place a renewal request via your ILLiad account before it is due. Failure to return other libraries' items on time may result in their refusal to lend us items in the future.

Your One Card is your official university ID. It is optional for the distance learning and extended campus communities.

If you only plan to access the Gallucci-Cirio Library's services and resources online, you just need to know your Fitchburg State Banner ID number. Your Banner number with the "@" symbol changed to a zero is your library barcode.

If you come on campus, you will need your One Card to check out library materials, use the photocopiers, and print from computers and microfiche machines. You also need your One Card if you intend to go to any of the ARC or WILL libraries and borrow materials from them. The student number printed on your One Card serves as your Library Instituion ID number.

How do I get materials not available online?

ILLiad is our online system to request items such as books, articles, media, etc. It consists of two services:

  • Document Delivery Service - Available for use by Distance Learning and Extended Campus students and faculty to request items in our Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library's physical collections and those we borrow from other libraries be delivered to their home address.
    Note: On-campus faculty may request items to be delivered to their on-campus office.
  • All students and faculty can use it as an Interlibrary Loan Service to request items they want that are not available in our Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library's physical and online collections. Our library staff will borrow it from another library for you.

Access ILLiad by clicking on "My Library Accounts" in the top gray bar of the Library's website. You will also see links to connect you to ILLiad from the Library's Research Guides, embedded librarian content, and when you click on any of the Get Article/Find Article/Get Copy links you see in the databases.

Before you can use ILLiad for the first time, you must activate your account by clicking on the "First Time User? Create Your Account" link (below the login boxes) and filling out the New User Registration form.

  • We recommend that you use your Falcon Key as your username and password and your Fitchburg State email.
  • Under "Preferred Loan Delivery Method (physical items)" select the "Mail to Address" to have items delivered to your home instead of picking it up at the Circulation Desk. Note: Delivery to your home is restricted to students enrolled in and faculty teaching in Distance Learning or at Extended Campus courses.
  • Under the section for "Location of your current courses (Staff choose Main Campus)" choose Main Fitchburg State/McKay Campus, Distance Learning/Online or Extended Campus depending on where your courses are located.

To return to ILLiad:

  1. Click on any ILLiad link
  2. At the ILLiad homepage enter your Username and Password
  3. Your ILLiad account's Main Menu page will display. From here you can use the left-hand menu to go to:
    • New Request - Select the Article, Book or A/V, or Book Chapter request form; fill it out to request an item. When you hit the Submit Request button the system will automatically fill in all of your information which you entered through the New User Registration form.
    • View - Track your outstanding requests, access electronically received articles, et cetera.
    • Tools - Here you can update your account information at any time and change your password.

Don't restrict yourself to the first full text items you find online. Books, journals and other materials not available in the Gallucci-Cirio Library's databases or print and online collections can be requested from other libraries through our ILLiad Interlibrary Loan service. This service is available free to Fitchburg State students and faculty including those in an extended campus or distance learning course/program.

Please keep in mind that an Interlibrary Loan request for a physical item such as a book takes an average of 1 to 2 weeks and the average time for an electronic article/document takes 1 business day from the time you submit the request until you receive the item, but it may take longer. To request an item through ILLiad Interlibrary Loan, click on the ILLiad link below or from anywhere within the Library's website (Under the "My Library Accounts" link in the top bar) or by clicking on the "Find Copy" link from within the databases (note: name of link varies depending on the database).

Use our ILLiad document delivery service to have items from our print collections as well as those you we get for you from other libraries through the Interlibrary Loan service sent to you. Physical items such as books will be sent to your home via postal mail while items such as articles will be sent electronically directly into your ILLiad account as PDFs you can download. In mailing items we will incur the cost of shipping the item(s) to you; you will be responsible for the cost of shipping library items back to us and for any damaged/lost items.

Gallucci-Cirio Library-owned items and Interlibrary Loan items can be returned in person or mailed to the Gallucci-Cirio Library using the enclosed return mailing label. Any library items mailed back must be shipped in appropriate packing such as a jiffy bag to prevent the item from being damaged (ask at your local post office if you are not sure).

This service is only available to faculty teaching through extended campus or distance learning courses and students currently enrolled through a Fitchburg State extended campus or distance learning course/program.

The length of the delivery time will vary depending on the material requested and the mode of delivery available. Our goal is to ensure that you receive materials as quickly as possible.

Length of the borrowing time for physical items:

  • Circulating items for Fitchburg State-owned items:
    • Student borrowing period for most items is 28 days, plus a 7-day grace period to allow for shipping time. The library assesses a $15 processing fee per item when an overdue item is converted to a lost status by the automated system; this is a flat fee charged regardless of whether the item is returned or not. Lost and damaged fees are the cost of the item; lost fees are waived upon return of the item.
    • Faculty borrowing period for most circulating items is 6 months
  • Circulating items from other libraries vary depending on the individual library and are the same for students and faculty; we have no control over this date. The due date will be specified on each individual item. We ask that you please return Interlibrary Loan items by the due date specified or if you need it longer, place a renewal request via your ILLiad account before it is due. Failure to return other libraries' items on time may result in their refusal to lend us items in the future.

ILLiad Request forms will pull citation information directly from the Library's databases and automatically populate the form for you!

When you are in one of the Library's databases with items in your results list which aren't full text, simply click on the "Get Article" link, "Find a Copy" link, et cetera that you see. This will take you into our Journal Locator service which will quickly tell you whether that item is available through one of the other databases or in our library. If it states we don't have the item, scroll down and click on the "Request Books and Articles from Another Library" link. This connects you directly to the ILLiad logon page. Logon to ILLiad and the system automatically opens the request form and pulls all of the item's citation information into the form for you. All you need to do is make sure everything filled in, you can add in a note if you want, then click on the Submit Request button to send your request to the Interlibrary Loan staff who will borrow that item from another library for you.

Renew items that you have borrowed from the Gallucci-Cirio Library's collections by:

  • Online renewal - connect to the library's Traditional Catalog (under the Research section) and access your account directly by clicking on "My Account". Select Barcode or Institution ID and type the corresponding number in the box, type in your last name, and click on "Login". The system will tell you the new due date.
     
  • At the Circulation Desk - stop by the Circulation Desk and renew your items whether you have them with you or not.
     
  • Via phone - call the Circulation Desk during our hours of operation at 978-665-3063 and renew them over the phone.
     
  • Via email - email your renewal request to circulation@fitchburgstate.edu. Please be sure to include your name and library barcode/institution ID number.

Please note:

  • Overdue items can not be renewed online if your account is expired or you owe lost fees.
  • The Circulation staff reserves the right to require the early return of a renewed item or deny a renewal if it is needed by another Fitchburg State student or faculty member.

Renew items that we have borrowed for you from another library (Interlibrary Loan):

Please note that different libraries have different renewal policies so it may take a few days before you know whether the renewal request has been approved or not. This is a library-to-library service, please don't contact the lending library directly. Our staff will notify you through an automated ILLiad email as soon as the lending library responds.

  • Online renewal - Log into your ILLiad account and click on "Checked Out Items" under the View section of the Main Menu. Select the item you wish to request a renewal for.
  • At the Circulation Desk - stop by the Circulation Desk and request a renewal whether you have the item with you or not.
  • Via phone - call the Circulation Desk during our hours of operation at 978-665-3063 and request the renewal over the phone.
  • Via email - email your renewal request to circulation@fitchburgstate.edu. Please be sure to include your name and the item's  ILLiad number.

 

 

Your Librarian

Linda LeBlanc's picture
Linda LeBlanc
Contact:
HA-102, Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library, Hammond Hall
978-665-3062
Website Skype Contact: lileblancfsu