Research Help: EDLM/EDUC/SPED 9005: Dynamic Perspectives in Education (Day): Education in the Media

News Organization Websites

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for regional, national (U.S.) and international newspapers; full text television & radio news transcripts.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of major national newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post and NY Times, and many others.
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic (Now called Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal (including cases and legislation), medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.

Education Media Centre
"Making Evidence Make News" | Many discussions about education can be based on subjective views, vested interests, political or ideological bias or just best guesses. The public deserves something more sophisticated than that and the Education Media Centre aims to help bring that about. (About us page).
nprEd
National Public Radio (NPR) Education topics page -- useful for keeping up to date on current topics of discussion.
npr|WBUR EDify Series
WBUR, a member branch of NPR based out of Boston, hosted a series in June 2018 to evaluate the past 25 years of education reform in Massachusetts. The series includes worthwhile discussions and thought provoking perspectives for you to consider.
BBC | Family & Education
The BBC provides perspectives on education from outside of the U.S. which can be helpful for understanding education issues and international solutions.
Education Week: Education And The Media Blog
Collection of current articles on education topics as they appear in the media.
Ted | Education
Watch, listen, or read the latest Ted Talks on Education.

If you are concerned about bias and potential fake news, learn more on the Fake News Research Guide.

Every Classroom Matters
Interviews with teachers and professionals on classroom practices.
Schooled: Bad Teacher
Discussions concerning the challenges of teaching in high-poverty school systems.
Teaching Matters
Teaching Matters is an audio series exploring the unique needs of students. | WOUB Public Media
Educationally Speaking
Educationally Speaking is a five-week WHRV special, produced by Barry Graham and Kathy Martin, that examines the current state of education. This documentary series will feature local interviews about a different topic each week. | WHRV Public Media
Educate
Stories about education, opportunity, and how people learn. | APM Reports
Degrees of Diversity
More than 80 percent of public school teachers in the U.S. are white, and a WXXI News investigation has found that the disparity is much more severe in the Rochester, NY and Finger Lakes regions. Degrees of Diversity takes an in-depth look at diversity among local teaching staffs, and the steps, if any, the districts are taking to making their staffs better reflect their student population. | WXXI News