Research Help: SOC 3002: Social Research Methods: Quantitative (Miner): Getting Started

Articles

Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive sociology research database; contains full text for books and monographs, journals and conference papers.
ProQuest Sociology This link opens in a new window
Sociology Articles in WorldShare knowledge base
ProQuest Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Search full-text scientific journals covering the social sciences. Provides information on hundreds of topics, including: Addiction studies, Urban studies, Family studies, International relations.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences, JSTOR Life Sciences, and JSTOR eBooks This link opens in a new window
An advanced, multidisciplinary database featuring secondary resources in history, scholarly articles, over 57,000 eBooks and other resources spanning the humanities and sciences.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
A search engine for scholarly literature. Searches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. For info on how to use Google Scholar to find articles available at Fitchburg State see https://fitchburgstate.libguides.com/c.php?g=556392&p=3825507
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Developed to meet the increasing demands of scholarly research, Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for regional, national (U.S.) and international newspapers; full text television & radio news transcripts.

Massachusetts Statistics

Statistics and census data often provide a gold mine of information for you to use.

Massachusetts Municipal Profiles Ref HA 431 .M27
- These books combine data from various local agencies and organize it by town. You can see demographic informaiton, taxation and finances.

Massachusetts Data Visualization
See all the data the U.S. Census Bureau has collected on Massachusetts in graph format. Includes General Housing Characteristics, Economic Characteristics and much more!
Massachusetts City and Town Websites
Get access to webpages for your cities and communities for more information.

National Statistics

To compare your city or region to the national trends, try some of these sources:

Statistical Absract of the United States REF HA 202 .A38
- Put out by the US Census Bureau, this book summarizes data collected by various national agencies.
- 2008 edition is at the Reference Desk
- See the links bellow for older versions

Statistical Abstract of the United States
The on-line version of the book.
Census Bureau Home Page
See the results of the 2000 census as well as many older versions.

International Statistics

There are tons of ways to get international statistics! Try some of these...

CIA World Factbook
Geograpic, demographic, political, economic, and social statistics on countries, territories and dependencies. Information is updated every two weeks.
NationMaster - World Statistics, Country Comparisons
NationMaster is a massive central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
UN Statistics Division
What does the UN have for international statistics? Find out here!

Citations

RefWorks
Create your account with your Fitchburg State email address.
more...less...
Note: You must have popups enabled for RefWorks to work properly.

Refworks is a great tool for staying organized while you're searching for articles. It also helps you format your citations and write your bibliography. Sign up for an account with your Fitchburg State University email address to start using Refworks.

SOC 3002: Social Research Methods: Quantitative (Miner)

Meet Your Librarian

More Suggested Resources