Research Help: FYE 1000: Cultivating Resilience (Day): Getting Started

Background Research

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An easy-to-use database providing dictionary and encyclopedia entries on subjects in all academic disciplines; a scholarly alternative to Wikipedia. Provides access to over 1,000 reference books.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
The online edition of the oldest English-language general encyclopaedia.
Global Issues In Context This link opens in a new window
Provides access to sources for analysis of current events, issues of international importance, and detailed information about nations. Each entry pulls together source material to analyze social, political, military, economic, health and cultural issues and includes access to newspapers and periodicals, web sites, and multimedia features.

Free Images

Finding high quality images that are free for you to use in school without violating copyright is possible! When you need to include visuals in your projects, try out some of these suggested websites that provide copyright friendly photos.

Photos For Class
Teachers need a place to access safe images that are available to be used in the classroom and for educational purposes. Plus, they want accurate image citations. This website aims to help teachers and students find and use copyright friendly images.
Pexels
Pexels' mission is to help millions of designers, writers, artists, programmers and other creators get access to beautiful photos they can use freely empowering them to create amazing products, designs, stories, websites, apps, art and other work.
Pixabay
Pixabay is a vibrant community of creatives, sharing copyright free images and videos. All contents are released under the Pixabay License, which makes them safe to use without asking for permission or giving credit to the artist - even for commercial purposes.
Unsplash
Unsplash is a platform powered by an amazing community that has gifted hundreds of thousands of their own photos to fuel creativity around the world. So sign up for free, or don’t. Either way, you’ve got access to over a million photos under the Unsplash license—which makes them free to do-whatever-you-want with.
Wikimedia
This resource, like Wikipedia, provide free access to images licensed under Creative Commons. You still need to cite any images you use to show respect for the image creator and enable other people to find the image.

Newspapers

Print issues for major newspapers and magazines are available on the second floor of the library.

Massachusetts

Boston Globe
A leading news source for Massachusetts, breaking news, business, sports, health, arts & entertainment, politics, education, cars, jobs, real estate & more. 1997 to Present in ProQuest Central and U.S. Newsstream.
Telegram & Gazette
The Telegram & Gazette (and Sunday Telegram) is Worcester, Massachusetts's only daily newspaper, offering coverage of all of Worcester County, as well as surrounding areas of the western suburbs of Boston, Western Massachusetts, and several towns in Windham County in northeastern Connecticut. 1/16/1989 to 01/27/2017 in ProQuest Central and U.S. Newsstream.
Sentinel & Enterprise
The Sentinel & Enterprise is a morning daily newspaper published in Fitchburg, Massachusetts, with a satellite news bureau in Leominster, Massachusetts. The newspaper covers local news in Fitchburg, Leominster and several nearby towns in northern Worcester County and northwest Middlesex County, Massachusetts. Print issues 2 months ago-present are available on the second floor of the library. Articles published from 2005-2018 are available in U.S. Newsstream and ProQuest Central.

United States

New York Times University Subscription
Activate your free New York Times subscription through the library with this link.
New York Times (Online)
The New York Times is an American newspaper based in New York City with worldwide influence and readership. Founded in 1851, the paper has won 122 Pulitzer Prizes, more than any other newspaper.
The Washington Post (Online)
The Washington Post is an American daily newspaper. Published in Washington, D.C., it was founded on December 6, 1877. Located in the capital city of the United States, the newspaper has a particular emphasis on national politics.
The Wall Street Journal
WSJ online coverage of breaking news and current headlines from the US and around the world. Top stories, photos, videos, detailed analysis and in-depth reporting.
Chicago Tribune
The Chicago Tribune is a daily newspaper based in Chicago, Illinois, United States. It is the eighth-largest newspaper in the United States by circulation (and became the second-largest under Tribune's ownership after the Chicago Tribune's parent company purchased the Los Angeles Times).
USA TODAY
USA TODAY delivers current local and national news, sports, entertainment, finance, technology, and more through award-winning journalism, photos, videos and VR.

International

The Economist
The Economist offers authoritative insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science, technology and the connections between them.
The Guardian (U.K.)
The Guardian is a British daily newspaper. It was known from 1821 until 1959 as the Manchester Guardian. Along with its sister papers The Observer and the Guardian Weekly, The Guardian is part of the Guardian Media Group, owned by the Scott Trust.

FYE 1000: Cultivating Resilience (Day)

Types of Articles

Videos