These are a few databases you can use to find background information on a topic before searching for scholarly research articles. Learning more about an issue helps you round out your eventual research and essays.
An easy-to-use database providing dictionary and encyclopedia entries on subjects in all academic disciplines; a scholarly alternative to Wikipedia. Provides access to over 1,000 reference books.
Provides access to sources for analysis of current events, issues of international importance, and detailed information about nations. Each entry pulls together source material to analyze social, political, military, economic, health and cultural issues and includes access to newspapers and periodicals, web sites, and multimedia features.
In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Podcasts
Podcasts are great sources for getting ideas and dipping your toes into a topic before diving in. These are just a few that are out in the podcast-sphere. You can search for more on Apple podcasts, Soundcloud, Stitcher, nprOne, or wherever you get your podcasts.
REDIRECT is a weekly dive into the world of immigration law and its human consequences. Refugees and border walls, rhetoric and politics. We break it down and get to the truth.
This Week in Immigration gives you a rundown in 30 minutes or less of key immigration issues. Experts from the Bipartisan Policy Center discuss and analyze all that is new and noteworthy on immigration policy.
What You Need to Know on Immigration is a five-part series that will cover DREAMers and DACA, border and interior enforcement, temporary worker visas, sanctuary cities, and the status of comprehensive immigration reform produced by the Bipartisan Policy Center. Listen to understand the background, ins and outs, and current status of these key issues in the immigration debate.
For almost 2,000 miles, one line defines a country and divides the world. What is life like at the U.S.-Mexico border now, and how would a wall change that? In this podcast, journalists take you with them to the border to find out. Meet a human smuggler. Ride with armed vigilantes. Get bitten – lightly! – by a jaguar. Fly over the entire border line. Hear what journalists go through to get these stories – and the surprising things they learn along the way. This podcast is hosted by Nicole Carroll, executive editor of The Arizona Republic and azcentral.com, part of the USA TODAY NETWORK.
Newspapers
Print issues for major newspapers and magazines are available on the second floor of the library.
A leading news source for Massachusetts, breaking news, business, sports, health, arts & entertainment, politics, education, cars, jobs, real estate & more. 1997 to Present in ProQuest Central and U.S. Newsstream.
The Telegram & Gazette (and Sunday Telegram) is Worcester, Massachusetts's only daily newspaper, offering coverage of all of Worcester County, as well as surrounding areas of the western suburbs of Boston, Western Massachusetts, and several towns in Windham County in northeastern Connecticut. 1/16/1989 to 01/27/2017 in ProQuest Central and U.S. Newsstream.
The Sentinel & Enterprise is a morning daily newspaper published in Fitchburg, Massachusetts, with a satellite news bureau in Leominster, Massachusetts. The newspaper covers local news in Fitchburg, Leominster and several nearby towns in northern Worcester County and northwest Middlesex County, Massachusetts. Print issues 2 months ago-present are available on the second floor of the library. Articles published from 2005-2018 are available in U.S. Newsstream and ProQuest Central.
The New York Times is an American newspaper based in New York City with worldwide influence and readership. Founded in 1851, the paper has won 122 Pulitzer Prizes, more than any other newspaper.
The Washington Post is an American daily newspaper. Published in Washington, D.C., it was founded on December 6, 1877. Located in the capital city of the United States, the newspaper has a particular emphasis on national politics.
WSJ online coverage of breaking news and current headlines from the US and around the world. Top stories, photos, videos, detailed analysis and in-depth reporting.
The Chicago Tribune is a daily newspaper based in Chicago, Illinois, United States. It is the eighth-largest newspaper in the United States by circulation (and became the second-largest under Tribune's ownership after the Chicago Tribune's parent company purchased the Los Angeles Times).
USA TODAY delivers current local and national news, sports, entertainment, finance, technology, and more through award-winning journalism, photos, videos and VR.
The Economist offers authoritative insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science, technology and the connections between them.
The Guardian is a British daily newspaper. It was known from 1821 until 1959 as the Manchester Guardian. Along with its sister papers The Observer and the Guardian Weekly, The Guardian is part of the Guardian Media Group, owned by the Scott Trust.
