Skip to main content

Distance Learning and Extended Campus Library Services: Services: How Do I...?

See how to access the library's online resources from off campus, borrow materials from our print collections and borrow materials from other libraries when you are teaching or enrolled in one of our distance learning or extended campus courses.

Get Off-campus Access to the Gallucci-Cirio Library's Resources?

As a Fitchburg State faculty or student member you are issued a unique Falcon Key username and password from the Technology Department when you teach or enroll in a course/program. Whenever you are prompted to login to the library's databases and subscription resources from off campus, use your Falcon Key to login just as you do for Blackboard.

Don't know your Falcon Key?

Students and faculty can obtain their Falcon Key account information from the Technology Help Desk; you will need to provide them with your Banner ID number.

In an extended campus course/program and haven't received a Banner Student ID number because your paperwork is in progress? Contact Linda LeBlanc (978) 665-3062 or dllibrary@fitchburgstate.edu for a temporary guest login to use.

Faculty/Staff Falcon Key:

  • Your username & password are the same as your blackboard/email username. (i.e. "jsmith").

Student Falcon Key:

  • Your username is the same as your blackboard/email username (i.e. "jsmith23").  

When you are off-campus and you click on the link for a database, e-journal, etc., from the library's website you will be prompted to enter your Falcon Key login information. Once you enter it you should be taken directly into that resource and can begin using it. You will only be prompted to login once for each online session. Need help selecting a database? Subject guides provide you a list of top resources for that subject and other information to help you get started or contact the librarians for research and reference assistance. You can use the drop down lists below to select a specific database or subject guide.

From the Library's website at library.fitchburgstate.edu, use the discovery Resources Search box to search all of the library's collections or go to the Research section to go to a specific resource.

This service is useful when you have a citation for an article that you want to track down, know a specific journal that you want to use or just want to browse by subject for journals (both print and electronic) that the Gallucci-Cirio Library subscribes to. It lets you type in the name of a journal that you are looking for.

  • If we have one or more online subscriptions with full-text access available for that journal, a list of links will display with the date range of the full-text coverage each resource provides. When you click on a resource link, if you are off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your Falcon Key in order to access the full-text online.
  • If we only have the journal in print, use ILLiad to request the specific articles you would like and we will scan them into PDF files which will be posted into your ILLiad account so you can access them.
  • If we don't subscribe to the journal and you have a specific article you need, use ILLiad to request it from another library.

You can access the journal locator search tool using the link below or via the Research section of our library website.

Type in the name of a journal to see if the AVGC Library has access to it online or in our print collection:

 

 

Use the Library's Traditional Catalog directly via the Research section of the library's website to locate books, CDs, and etc. that are available in the Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library. Searching is available from on and off campus with no login required unless you want to access your library catalog account or click on an e-Book or e-Journal.

In the Gallucci-Cirio Library:

 

The Course Reserves Service is provided for faculty members who have materials that they want available for use by the students in their course(s). This service is available for all Fitchburg State faculty and accessible to all students in on-campus, distance learning and extended campus courses. At the end of the semester usage statistics for each course's reserve items are available to the professor.

Course Reserves Desk

The Reserve Desk (also part of the Circulation Desk) is a physical location where faculty provide books (personal copies and/or library copies), articles, CDs, videos, etc. for student use within the Library or for short loans.

Reserve items are maintained on the bookcase located behind the Circulation Desk. The items are placed under the name of the professor who requested they be put on reserve. All reserve items are listed online in our Library 's Catalog; click on the Course Reserves button and search by professor or course name.

Faculty at extended campus locations may request Gallucci-Cirio Library-owned materials to be sent to their course location to be placed in a secure area for their students to use; please contact us at eresmanager@fitchburgstate.edu to make arrangements.

Student Access to the Course Reserves Desk at the Library:

  1. Students should present their Fitchburg State One Card ID.
  2. Tell the circulation assistant the name of the professor and the title of the book/article/item desired. A list of professors and the items they have on Reserve is available on the Library's Catalog, click on the Course Reserves button.
  3. Reserve Items are to be used in the Library only. These can not be checked out overnight, unless the professor has specified otherwise. The items that do circulate have a short loan period of 1 day or 1 week; due dates are strictly enforced with a late fine of $2 per day per item assessed on items returned late.
  4. Reserve Items that are "in-library use only" must be returned to the Circulation Desk prior to closing.
  5. Students may be limited as to the number of Reserve Items they can sign out at one time from the same professor to ensure that all students have a chance to access the material.
  6. If a student has overdue items or unpaid fines/lost fees on his/her account, borrowing privileges (including the use of Reserve items) will be blocked until the account balance has been cleared.