In this section is a short selection of books and articles form our collections that address issues and topics new librarians might find helpful and relevant as they begin their careers as academic librarians.
Lacey, S., & Parlette-Stewart, M. (2017). Partnership : The Canadian Journal of Library and Information Practice and Research, 12(1), 1-15. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.21083/partnership.v12i1.3979
The Heart of Librarianship by Michael T. StephensHyperlinked Librarianship gathers selected, thematically organized Michael Stephens's Library Journal "Office Hours" columns.Hyperlinked library services start with constant, positive, and purposeful adaptation to change that is based on thoughtful planning and grounded in the mission of libraries. Librarians embracing the hyperlinked model practice careful trend spotting and apply the foundational tenets of librarianship along with an informed understanding of emerging technologies' and trends' societal and cultural impact. Thematic sections bring together ideas for practice, supporting evidence from recent research, and insights that will inform and inspire librarians of all types.Stephens teaches a course on the hyperlinked library for San Jose State University, opening the door to an ecourse collaboration.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016-05-16
Diversity and inclusion by Toni Anaya, Charlene Maxey-HarrisThis SPEC Kit gathers information about current recruitment and retention strategies that aim to increase the number of minority librarians in research libraries, staff development programs that foster an inclusive workplace and climate, how diversity programs have changed, and how libraries assess these efforts. It includes examples of diversity goals, visions, and statements, committee charges, mentoring programs, research resources, and job descriptions.
Call Number: Z682.4.M56A53 2017
Publication Date: 2017
The New Instruction Librarian by Candice M. Benjes-Small; Rebecca K. MillerThe sheer amount of resources on the subject of information literacy is staggering. Yet a comprehensive but concise roadmap specifically for librarians who are new to instruction, or who are charged with training someone who is, has remained elusive. Until now. This book cuts through the jargon and rhetoric to ease the transition into library instruction, offering support to all those involved, including library supervisors, colleagues, and trainees. Grounded in research on teaching and learning from numerous disciplines, not just library literature, this book shows how to set up new instruction librarians for success, with advice on completing an environmental scan, strategies for recruiting efficiently, and a training checklist; walks readers step by step through training a new hire or someone new to instruction, complete with hands-on activities and examples; explores the different roles an instruction librarian is usually expected to play, such as educator, project manager, instructional designer, and teaching partner; demonstrates the importance of performance evaluation and management, including assessment and continuing education, both formal and informal; and provides guided reading lists for further in-depth study of a topic. A starter kit for librarians new to instruction, this resource will be useful for training coordinators as well as for self-training.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016-11-16
Becoming an Embedded Librarian by Michelle RealeA realistic and down to earth account of a librarian embedding her services in a university course. While other books rely heavily on cold and objective accounts of embedding as a service, Reale draws from her own desire to "be there" and her own experiences in the classroom. This book serves as a practical "guide for the journey" to those who are contemplating being embedded in the classroom but do not know what to expect. Embedded librarianship is not 'one size fits all!'
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
Becoming a Reflective Librarian and Teacher by Michelle RealeThe book would encompass how librarians can use reflective practice in their own daily professional lives (much like teachers and teachers-in-training) and how to implement and enact reflective practice in the classroom. The content would entail chapters on pedagogy, history of the practice, practicalities, examples from an actual class, assessment, etc. Librarians roles are changing and we are embracing the role of educator more in the 21st century than ever before. Reflective practice is increasingly recognized as essential. Nearly every profession, including the medical/science-based professions are using reflective practice to bring greater awareness to our own biases/strengths and weaknesses in the classroom and to be able to enact this practice in the classrooms in which we find ourselves and pass them on as a lifelong learning tool for our students.Often, librarians feel that their teaching, when it occurs, is often too "short-term" to implement reflective practice, but in fact, the tool can be used in any setting in which learning occurs.Here is a quote from Donald Schon on Reflective Practice, which exemplifies its role in pedagogy:"The reflective practice creates the possibility of learning through transformation: learning through our experience(s) in concert with formalized aspects of learning."Donald Schön (1983) suggested that the capacity to reflect on action so as to engage in a process of continuous learning was one of the defining characteristics of professional practice. He argued that the model of professional training which he termed "Technical Rationality"--of charging students up with knowledge in training schools so that they could discharge when they entered the world of practice, perhaps more aptly termed a "battery" model--has never been a particularly good description of how professionals "think in action", and is quite inappropriate to practice in a fast-changing world. In contrast, reflective practice is directly in tune with these needs and it would benefit librarians to adopt it and move from a more "skill-based" and towards a true pedagogical stance.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016-12-16
The New Librarianship Field Guide by R. David LankesHow librarians can be radical positive change agents in their communities, dedicated to learning and making a difference. This book offers a guide for librarians who see their profession as a chance to make a positive difference in their communities--librarians who recognize that it is no longer enough to stand behind a desk waiting to serve. R. David Lankes, author of The Atlas of New Librarianship, reminds librarians of their mission: to improve society by facilitating knowledge creation in their communities. In this book, he provides tools, arguments, resources, and ideas for fulfilling this mission. Librarians will be prepared to become radical positive change agents in their communities, and other readers will learn to understand libraries in a new way. The librarians of Ferguson, Missouri, famously became positive change agents in August 2014 when they opened library doors when schools were closed because of civil unrest after the shooting of an unarmed teen by police. Working with other local organizations, they provided children and their parents a space for learning, lunch, and peace. But other libraries serve other communities--students, faculty, scholars, law firms--in other ways. All libraries are about community, writes Lankes; that is just librarianship. In concise chapters, Lankes addresses the mission of libraries and explains what constitutes a library. He offers practical advice for librarian training; provides teaching notes for each chapter; and answers "Frequently Argued Questions" about the new librarianship.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016-05-13
The Subject Liaison's Survival Guide to Technical Services by Krista Schmidt; Tim CarstensSubject liaisons are a communications bridge connecting academic departments to the library and its services Liaisons provide instruction sessions, research support, and collection development for their departments. The better the subject liaison understands the technical services functions the better the service she can offer.This model ask that liaisons have vision or collection building philosophy as well as a working knowledge of how technical services staff get things done. Oftentimes, liaisons' only knowledge of technical services comes LIS coursework, sufficient for understanding principles, perhaps. Far short on the operational details of ordering, processing, cataloging, and weeding. With a better command of technical services operations, subject liaisons will shape will manage expecations and assure that your library delivers on promised services. From the author proposal:Chapters will address six main areas of interest including policy, budget and funds, submitting orders, acquisitions ordering, processing, cataloging, deselection/weeding. All chapters will include appropriate background information and further explanations will be devised to enhance liaison understanding of each area. A list of prompts related to each area will follow explanations; these "Questions You Should Be Asking" will be created to help liaisons understand the breadth and depth of each area as they train and begin to more thoroughly understand collections and acquisitions concepts.Positioning the work against comparable books, they write:Most of these resources- particularly the monographs- are aimed at technical services audiences and include in-depth information and jargon of interest to those already in the technical services field or pursuing librarianship in that niche. Liaisons are forced to dig through a morass of not pertinent information to find the useful parts of these resources. One exception, Moniz and Eschleman's Fundamentals for the Academic Liaison, is similar to ours in that its audience is liaisons and it uses the idea of checklists (similar to our "Questions You Should be Asking"). However, while that book does address ideas such as budgeting and acquisitions, it is but a snapshot of what we plan to include in an entire book.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016-10-31
Academic Librarianship Today by Todd Gilman (Editor); Beverly P. Lynch (Foreword by)Intended for use by both librarians and students in LIS programs, Academic Librarianship Today is the most current, comprehensive overview of the field available today. Key features include: -Each chapter was commissioned specifically for this new book, and the authors are highly regarded academic librarians or library school faculty-- or both -Cutting-edge topics such as open access, copyright, digital curation and preservation, emerging technologies, new roles for academic librarians, cooperative collection development and resource sharing, and patron-driven acquisitions are explored in depth -Each chapter ends with thought-provoking questions for discussion and carefully constructed assignments that faculty can assign or adapt for their courses The book begins with Gilman's introduction, an overview that briefly synthesizes the contents of the contributors' chapters by highlighting major themes. The main part of the book is organized into three parts: The Academic Library Landscape Today, Academic Librarians and Services Today, and Changing Priorities, New Directions.
Call Number: Z675.U5A318 2017
Publication Date: 2017-02-02
Practical Tips for Developing Your Staff by Tracey Pratchett; Gil Young; Carol Brooks (As told to); Lisa Jeskins (As told to); Helen Monagle (As told to)This book offers innovative tips and tried-and-tested best practice to enable library and knowledge workers to take control of professional development regardless of the budget and time available to them. Continuing professional development (CPD) is a key component of a successful and satisfying career. Part of the Practical Tips for Library and Information Professionals series, this book offer a wide range of ideas and methods for all library and information professionals to manage the development of those who work for and with them. You will find flexible tips and implementation advice on topics including: enabling others to plan, reflect on and evaluate their personal development appraisals and goal setting: linking personal objectives to organizational objectives performance management sourcing funding to attend and run events planning formal development activities such as courses and conferences accessing informal activities using social media as a development tool role of professional bodies and networks mentoring, buddying and coaching networking. Readership: All library and information professionals who have responsibility for managing, mentoring and training staff and individuals wishing to manage their own CPD.