Provides biographical information on more than 500,000 individuals across disciplines and subject areas. Authoritative entries also include interactive video and audio resources and links to vetted web sites for additional information. Content can be searched by name, occupation, nationality and date and even to determine the connections between individuals.
Get bios and free narratives from American authors, everyone from Twain and Emerson to John Woolman and Rose Terry Cooke.
American Writers by A. Walton Litz; Molly Weigel
Call Number: Ref. PS129.A55
ISBN: 9780684197852
Publication Date: 1996-09-23
Read detailed biographies for American writers. Includes bibliographies.
Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB)
Call Number: REF PS243 A54
The massive collection of blue books in the reference collection. They are organized by different subjects. Best bet: find the latest index to identify which volumes your author appears in.
Current, comprehensive, and reliable online resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Contains online Dictionary of Literary Biography.
The books in the reference collection (DLB, CLC, TCLC, etc.) are amazing resources for literary criticism. The best way to use them is to find the most recent index in any of the series (they are all part of a collective publication) and find your author. The index will tell you in which title and which volume your author is in. For example you may see: TCLC 28 or DLB 99. That tells you the series and then the volume. You just have to pull that specific volume.
Nineteen Century Literature Criticism (NCLC) - REF PN761 N5
Short Story Criticism (SSC) - REF PN3373 S386
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) - REF PN771 G27
The MLA International Bibliography with Full Text combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields.
The MLA International Bibliography with Full Text is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and is international in scope. The bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. Next to basic search and advanced search, you can also search via the thesaurus: a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography. The database includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals which provides detailed information on thousands of journals and book series in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, film, rhetoric and composition, and folklore. Entries cover:
publication details
contact information
submission requirements and editorial policies
subscription terms
electronic availability and advertising
useful statistics such as circulation, average number of articles submitted and published, time from submission to decision, and time from decision to publication.
All periodicals and book series indexed in the MLA International Bibliography are listed in the directory.
Literature Criticism Online: Children's Literature Review covers more than 750 authors and includes numerous entries focusing on individual titles and topics in children’s and young adult literature, including picture books, folklore and graphic novels.
An advanced, multidisciplinary database featuring secondary resources in history, scholarly articles, over 57,000 eBooks and other resources spanning the humanities and sciences.
The Walt Whitman Archive is an electronic research and teaching tool that sets out to make Whitman's vast work, for the first time, easily and conveniently accessible. Edited by Ed Folson (University of Iowa) and Kenneth Price (University of Nebraska).
This site was conceived with a very particular aim: to make the writing of modern Native American authors, particularly the poets, both more visible and more widely available.
This web site provides an opportunity to read a sample of narratives and to see some of the photographs taken at the time of the interviews. The entire collection of narratives can be found in George P. Rawick, ed., The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography (Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1972-79).
American Writers by 
