Research Help: English Research Guide: Post Colonial Lit.

Background Info

A Historical Companion to Postcolonial Literatures in English by Prem Poddar (Editor); David Johnson (Editor)
ISBN: 0748618554

Publication Date: 2005-03-15

This is the first reference guide to the political, cultural and economic histories that form the subject-matter of postcolonial literatures written in English. The focus of the Companion is principally on the histories of postcolonial literatures in the Anglophone world - Africa, the Middle East, South Asia, South-east Asia, Australia and New Zealand, the Pacific, the Caribbean and Canada. There are also long entries discussing the literatures and histories of those further areas that have also claimed the title 'postcolonial', notably Britain, East Asia, Ireland, Latin America and the United States. The Companion contains 220 entries written by 150 acknowledged scholars of postcolonial history and literature, and covers major events, ideas, movements, and figures in postcolonial histories. In addition, for each region, there are long survey essays on historiography and women's histories.
Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English by Eugene Benson (Editor); L. W. Conolly (Editor)
ISBN: 0415278856

Publication Date: 2005-04-07

This Encyclopedia documents the history and development of this body of work from A (Gemino Henson Abad) to Z (Fay Zwicky) and includes original research relating to the literatures of some 50 countries and territories. It explores the effect of the colonial and post-colonial experience on literatures in English worldwide.
Key Concepts in Postcolonial Literature by Gina Wisker
ISBN: 9781403944481

Publication Date: 2006-11-14

Key Concepts in Postcolonial Literature provides an overview of the main themes, issues and critical perspectives that have had the greatest effect on postcolonial literatures. Discussing historical, cultural and contextual background, it contains selected work of some of the major writers from this period.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 by Daniel Balderston (Editor); Mike Gonzalez (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415306867

Publication Date: 2004-03-25

The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day. With more than 200 entries written by a team of international contributors, this Encyclopedia successfully covers the popular to the esoteric. The Encyclopedia is an invaluable reference resource for those studying Latin American and/or Caribbean literature as well as being of huge interest to those following Spanish or Portuguese language courses.

Criticism

The books in the reference collection (DLB, CLC, TCLC, etc.) are amazing resources for literary criticism. The best way to use them is to find the most recent index in any of the series (they are all part of a collective publication) and find your author. The index will tell you in which title and which volume your author is in. For example you may see: TCLC 28 or DLB 99. That tells you the series and then the volume. You just have to pull that specific volume.

Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism
Call Number: Ref. PN761.N5
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (TCLC)
Call Number: Ref. PN771.G27

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
The MLA International Bibliography with Full Text combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields.

The MLA International Bibliography with Full Text is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and is international in scope. The bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. Next to basic search and advanced search, you can also search via the thesaurus: a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography. The database includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals which provides detailed information on thousands of journals and book series in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, film, rhetoric and composition, and folklore. Entries cover:

publication details
contact information
submission requirements and editorial policies
subscription terms
electronic availability and advertising
useful statistics such as circulation, average number of articles submitted and published, time from submission to decision, and time from decision to publication.
All periodicals and book series indexed in the MLA International Bibliography are listed in the directory.
Literature Criticism Online: Children's Literature Review
Literature Criticism Online: Children's Literature Review covers more than 750 authors and includes numerous entries focusing on individual titles and topics in children’s and young adult literature, including picture books, folklore and graphic novels.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences, JSTOR Life Sciences, and JSTOR eBooks
An advanced, multidisciplinary database featuring secondary resources in history, scholarly articles, over 57,000 eBooks and other resources spanning the humanities and sciences.

Websites

Norton Anthology of World Literature
Designed as a springboard to help students extend their exploration of world literature and identify and frame topics for writing and research.
Caribbean Literature Overview

Subject Guide

Renée Fratantonio

she/her

Contact:

rfratant@fitchburgstate.edu

978-665-4219