Research Help: How Do I...? Get Research Help: Finding Sources

Pre-Search

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Biography In Context (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window

And, Or, Not

Combine all your concepts and terms with AND, OR, NOT:

AND - use this when ALL the words must be in your results. This will narrow your results. Example: apples AND oranges; peanut butter AND jelly

OR - use this to connect synonyms, when ANY can come back in your results. This will broaden a search. Example: women OR woman OR girl; cat OR kitty OR kitten

NOT - use with caution since this will eliminate results with the specified word.

See a visual guide to Boolean here!

Find Books In Our Library

Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library Catalog

Find books & more
Ask a Librarian for help with your search

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Use this web-based version of the OCLC database to look up books, articles and more in libraries worldwide and request them easily via ILLiad.

Choosing a Database

All Library Databases
See the A-Z list of our databases. Use this list if you already know the name of the database you need.
Research Guides by Major or Class
Find the most relevant resources, get searching tips and find the Librarian for your major or class.

Already know the article you need?

Do you have a citation? Did your professor tell you to find an article in a specific newspaper or magazine?

Search for Newspapers and Magazines by Title

ILLiad: Get Books from Another Library

ILLiad
Our interlibrary loan (ILL) system. Provide us with the information about the item you want and we will try to get it for you from another library.

Qualitative Primary Sources

Qualitative Primary Documents are original research: diaries, letters, stories, documents and more. They are used to help understand historical time periods or specific people'e perspectives of the world.

Newspapers can be considered primary documents when used to understand the history of an event or issue.

Library of Congress: American Memory
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Making of America
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Smithsonian Institution Digital Library
The Smithsonian Libraries' online 'Digital Library' contains digital publications, collections and objects.
Massachusetts Digital Treasures
A digital library collection of the agricultural and industrial history of Central and Western MA.

Quantitative Primary Sources

Quantitative Primary Documents are statistics and data from original experiements.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the U.S. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, BLS, BEA, and many other Federal and private agencies.
NationMaster - World Statistics, Country Comparisons
A compilation of data from sources such as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (U. S. Department of Labor)
Click on Employment to see statistics on subjects such as occupational employment and wages, labor demand and turnover, and the dynamic state of the labor market.
UN Statistics Division
What does the UN have for international statistics? Find out here!

Research appointments available!

Don't overlook one of your best resources - your Gallucci-Cirio Librarians! Need help getting started, developing your search strategy, focusing your topic and selecting "keywords", deciding what type of resources you need as well as how to use them? The librarians are here to assist you whether you have a home work assignment or an indepth research project to complete.

How Do I...? Get Research Help: Finding Sources