Reference tabs within site provide maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
The historical map collection has over 75,000 maps and images online. The collection includes rare 16th through 21st century maps of America, North America, South America, Europe, Asia, Africa, Pacific and the World.
A collection of before-and-after satellite images, maps and photographs designed to show recent environmental events and to introduce remote sensing. Covers environmental changes in a variety of urban, agricultural, forested, and marine locations.
The Fagel Collection consists of contemporary accounts of travels, books on geography and other geographical material; The special nature of this collection, in terms of both its scope and condition, make it an invaluable resource of primary material for research across a number of disciplines.
The Harvard Map Collection is one of the oldest and largest collections of cartographic materials in the United States with over 500,000 items. Resources range from 16th century globes to modern maps and geographic information systems (GIS) layers. A selection has been digitally imaged and is offered both as true picture images and georeferenced copies
edmaps.com is a free online cartographic resource. This site contains free maps that may be useful to students, teachers, and general enthusiasts in the study of History, Geopolitics, International Relations, and other disciplines.
The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration has historical aeronautical and nautical charts available at this site. You can find charts by either typing in a place name or clicking on a location on a map.
The U.S. Board of Geonames provides information regarding names of U.S. locations, foreign locations, as well as other global names and features. An additional Links section provides links to additional maps and historical information about U.S. locations.
University of California Museum of Paleontology provides the history of the Earth and allows the user to jump to a specific time period using the time scale to examine ancient life, climates, and geography
The NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies (GISS) is a laboratory in the Earth Sciences Division (ESD) of National Aeronautics and Space Administration's Goddard Space Flight Center (GSFC). The ESD is part of GSFC's Sciences and Exploration Directorate.
Program areas at GISS may be roughly divided into the categories of climate forcings; climate model development; Earth observations; atmospheric radiation; atmospheric chemistry; climate impacts; planetary atmospheres, exoplanets, and astrobiology; paleoclimate; and other disciplines.
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.