Citations can help you find more information about a topic you're researching.
Once you find a really good article on your topic, take a look at the references. Citations give you the bibliographic information you need in order to find the articles the author used for his/her research. If you understand each part of the citation, it makes it possible for you to search for OR request the information through ILL (Interlibrary Loan).
Google Scholar enables you to find more articles for your research outside the library. It also has a Cited By feature to help you track the number of times an article has been cited and where the article has been cited. Any articles you can't find in the library can be requested through ILL.
Journal Locator Search Tool
Type in the name of a journal to see if the AVGC Library has access to it online or in our print collection:
Bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations dating back to the 1920's containing over 2.3 million citations (some with full text) from more than 4,400 journals and 1,000 book publishers. Primarily oriented toward the Humanities.
Literature Criticism Online: Children's Literature Review covers more than 750 authors and includes numerous entries focusing on individual titles and topics in children’s and young adult literature, including picture books, folklore and graphic novels.
Studies in Romanticism is the flagship journal of Romantic literary studies. Since its founding in 1961, SiR has been committed to advancing the study of literature and culture in the dynamic “Romantic Century” of 1750-1850. International in sympathies and interdisciplinary in approaches, SiR publishes the highest caliber scholarship on British, Anglophone, and European Romantic-era studies, from diverse methodological perspectives.
This digital edition of Blake/An Illustrated Quarterly includes searchable online issues of more than 40 years of BIQ’s back catalog as well as downloadable PDFs of each issue. These digital issues are offered free of charge as a service to students and scholars of Blake and his contemporaries. Digital editions are provided for all issues with the exception of the most recent five volumes.
The Byron Journal is an international publication published twice annually by Liverpool University Press on behalf of The Byron Society, London. The journal publishes scholarly articles and notes on all aspects of Byron's writings and life, and on related topics.
A refereed quarterly forum for scholars and a source for researchers in English literature and language during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. Publishes articles and responses to published papers in a Readers' Forum. Reviews evaluate recent work as well as academic tools of interest to scholars in the field.
Launched in 1952, the Keats-Shelley Journal is published annually by the Keats-Shelley Association of America. It contains articles on John Keats, Percy Shelley, Mary Shelley, Lord Byron, Leigh Hunt, and their circles of mutual influence and context–as well as K-SAA news, scholarly notes, and reviews.
SEL focuses on four fields of British literature in rotating, quarterly issues: English Renaissance, Tudor and Stuart Drama, Restoration and Eighteenth Century, and Nineteenth Century. The editors select learned, readable papers that contribute significantly to the understanding of British literature from 1500 to 1900. SEL is well known for the commissioned omnibus review of recent studies in the field that is included in each issue. In a single volume, readers might find an argument for attributing a previously unknown work to Shakespeare or de-attributing a famous work from Milton, a study of the connections between class and genre in the Restoration Theater, an interdisciplinary exploration of the art of the miniature and Fielding's novels, or a theoretical exposition of the "material sublime" in Romantic poetry written by women.
The Wordsworth Circle is an international quarterly learned journal founded in 1970 to publish contemporary studies of literature, culture, and society primarily in England during the Romantic period from about 1760 to 1850. Directed toward scholars, critics, and students, it focuses on the lives, works and times of such writers as Wordsworth, Coleridge, Blake, Hazlitt, DeQuincey, Lamb, Southey, Byron, Shelley, Keats, Scott, Jane Austen, minor and popular writers such as Beattie, Maria Edgeworth , Leigh Hunt, John Clare, and James Hogg.The goal: to capture and record the special spirit, substance, and style of English Romantic studies.
The European Romantic Review publishes innovative scholarship on the literature and culture of Europe, Great Britain and the Americas during the period 1760-1840. Topics range from the scientific and psychological interests of German and English authors through the political and social reverberations of the French Revolution to the philosophical and ecological implications of Anglo-American nature writing. *The library does not have access to this journal but you can view abstracts and search on the journal's website. Use Interlibrary Loan to request articles you want to read.
Women’s Writing is a fully refereed international journal focusing on women’s writing in English from the Middle Ages to the end of the long nineteenth century. The journal reflects the diversity of scholarship in this important area of study and the editors welcome all critical perspectives; contributions may be close readings of complex texts or historical or theoretical investigations of gender, culture, race and class. The aim of the journal is to bring readers the latest research and open up a forum for dialogue, discussion and debate. Women’s Writing publishes both general issues and special issues edited by guest editors on themed issues. *The library does not have access to this journal but you can view abstracts and search on the journal's website. Use Interlibrary Loan to request articles you want to read.