Though you can often find an image of a work of art by using the Image Search on Google, these images are often of varying resolution and rarely have important information regarding the work itself.
The museum or organization that owns the work of art, however, will usually have better quality images as well as information regarding display, loans, provenance, artist history, and other important details. It is worth doing a search on the work itself to determine which museum or organization owns the piece, and then search that organization's collection.
Many art museums offer searchable databases of their collections with impressive image galleries.
The library has one image database:
1). When searching for images on a library database, search the database directly. Access the library's A-Z Databases list at http://fitchburgstate.libguides.com/az.php and select a database to search. This example looks at the Art Museum Image Gallery database.
2). Type your keywords into the search box.
3). Click on a title in the results list to access the image's landing page. EBSCOhost calls the permanent link Permalink. It is available from the right-hand tool menu.
4). Click on the permanent link icon on the tool bar (it looks like an infinity symbol and is usually near the bottom of the toolbar).
5). The Permalink box will appear above the article. Copy the Permalink URL. The Permalink includes the Library proxy prefix so it can be accessed by individuals off-campus with their Falcon Key credentials.
