Information Literacy and Library Instruction

Sessions can be conducted in our Library Instruction Lab or we can come to you:

• On Campus in: the Library Instruction Lab (Library, HA-101), your classroom, or one of the mediated classrooms/computer labs across campus (pending availability).
• Online: Synchronous and asynchronous options are available for on campus, extended campus and online courses.
• Extended Campus: A librarian will come out to your course at your site location. 

The following types of sessions are available:

• Writing I - Sessions for Writing I familiarize students with library resources and introduce them to basic research skills where students engage in workshops catered to their professor’s key interests. Each workshop is tailored to the specific objectives of the class. Workshop topics include: using the catalog and the databases, the difference between scholarly and non-scholarly sources, why Wikipedia shouldn't be cited in research, why citations are important, how to structure an effective search, and more. (Average Session Length: One 1.25 hour course block)
   
• Writing II - Sessions for Writing II delve into advanced searching techniques where students engage in workshops catered to their professor’s key interests. Each workshop is tailored to the specific objectives of the class. Workshop topics include: keyword versus subject searching, advanced searching in Google, bibliography/reference list compilation, in-text citations, and more. (Average Session Length: One 1.25 hour course block)
   
• Course/Assignment Specific Sessions - These are generally a mid-level to advanced-level session that can be conducted for any undergraduate or graduate level course. Students engage in workshops that continue to develop their advanced research skills focusing on specific databases and resources pertinent to a research or information literacy-based assignment. Each workshop is tailored to the specific objectives of the class and content reflects assignment requirements and research expectations. (Average Session Length: One 1.25 hour course block)
   
• Intro to Subject Specific Research - These are mid-level research sessions recommended for undergraduate courses with a major research component. Students engage in workshops that build upon skills and knowledge acquired from Writing I, Writing II and Course/Assignment sessions. Students are introduced to subject databases, resources, and search strategies pertinent to conducting research within a specific discipline or field of study. Each workshop is tailored to the specific objectives of the class and content reflects assignment requirements and research expectations. (Session Length: varies from 1 to 3 hours)
   
• Advanced Subject Specific Research - These are advanced-level research sessions recommended for undergraduate capstone and research seminar courses as well as graduate level courses. Students engage in workshops that focus on building advanced searching techniques and strategies in relation to subject databases and resources pertinent to research in the discipline or field of study. Each workshop is tailored to the specific objectives of the class and content reflects assignment requirements and research expectations. (Session Length: varies from 1 to 3 hours)
   
• Special Topics such as: Understanding Citations, The Role of Citations in the Research Process, How to “Explode” an Article to Expand Your Research, Finding Primary Sources, and more. (Sessions can be as short as 15 minutes or rolled into one of the traditional sessions listed above)
   
• Archives/Special Collections - A variety of instruction sessions are available such as introducing students to what is an Archives and/or Special Collection, how to find these materials and using them in their research/class projects, more. (Session Length: varies)
   
• Orientation Sessions - An introduction to the library and it’s services and collections geared for new students and Extended Campus/Distance Learning programs. (Average Session Length: 30 minutes)
  • Extended Campus/Distance Learning programs – we can provide sessions for your students and/or faculty at your site or online to “Bring the Library to You” – for details please contact me.
     
• Tours of the Archives & Special Collections are available upon request.

Want to partner with a librarian for more than just a one-shot library instruction session? Embed a Librarian into your course.

The Embedded Librarian Instruction Program provides an extended partnership between the instruction librarian and the faculty member by embedding the librarian into either the online portion of the course and/or the physical classroom to deliver synchronous and/or asynchronous library instruction content, research help/consultations, and more to the students for an extended time period (several weeks up to the full semester).

• Partially - The Embedded Librarian can come to your classroom or post library content online at designated times over the semester to do components of a library instruction session and more, aligned with when the students are working on the related assignment or step of the project.
• Fully - The Embedded Librarian is added into the online component of your course for the semester to provide both synchronous and asynchronous library instruction components, research help/consultations, and more.

Subject Guides

Every discipline at Fitchburg State has a comprehensive subject guide created by the library that is automatically embedded into your FSU Blackboard course shell. This is a great starting-point for students as they begin their research.

Course Guides

Upon request, a librarian can create a course-specific guide for your class that is tailored to focus on the information literacy outcomes, tools and sources that are most appropriate for your students and assignments. 

Fill out our Instruction Request Form to request a course guide. You can also contact your department's liaison librarian or one of the instruction librarians at any time to discuss creating a guide for your class!