Research Help: ENGL 1100: Writing I (Railton): Getting Started

Getting Started

Topics & Background Information

These are a few databases you can use to find background information on a topic before searching for scholarly research articles. Learning more about an issue helps you round out your eventual research and essays.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An easy-to-use database providing dictionary and encyclopedia entries on subjects in all academic disciplines; a scholarly alternative to Wikipedia. Provides access to over 1,000 reference books.
Global Issues In Context This link opens in a new window
Provides access to sources for analysis of current events, issues of international importance, and detailed information about nations. Each entry pulls together source material to analyze social, political, military, economic, health and cultural issues and includes access to newspapers and periodicals, web sites, and multimedia features.
Issues And Controversies This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

Get an idea!

Not sure what to write an essay about? Here are a few suggestions for getting an idea.

TedTalks - watch a TedTalk that inspires you. What questions do you have after watching?
Podcasts - listen to an episodes that sparks your curiosity. What drew you to that podcast? What are the issues the hosts discuss?
The News - explore the headlines and read a story that catches your eyes. Why did you read that one? What else do you want to know about that story?
Books - Checkout the library book displays or consider what you've read recently. Why are you interested in those topics?
Your Personal Experiences - reflect on past and current experiences. What did you or someone you know go through that makes you wonder what could be done to help other people with similar experiences?

Asking questions is important. Research is all about finding answers to our questions from multiple sources and using the information we find to reach a better understanding of an issue or a topic.

TedTalks
Ideas worth spreading.
Stitcher
Find a podcast that interests you. These are Stitcher's Top 100 Shows.
WBUR | npr
Boston's local NPR station. Great for audio clips from radio news or for short, objective news stories.
National Geographic
National Geographic gets you closer to the stories that matter. Through the world’s best scientists, photographers, journalists, and filmmakers, National Geographic captivates and entertains a global community through television channels, magazines, children’s media, travel expeditions, books, maps, consumer products, location-based entertainment and experiences, and some of the most engaging digital and social media platforms in the world.

Newspapers and News Sources
by Renée Fratantonio Last Updated Oct 24, 2023 126 views this year

Recommended Reading
Look through the recommended titles on the books page of this guide for ideas.