The MLA International Bibliography with Full Text combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields.
The MLA International Bibliography with Full Text is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and is international in scope. The bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. Next to basic search and advanced search, you can also search via the thesaurus: a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography. The database includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals which provides detailed information on thousands of journals and book series in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, film, rhetoric and composition, and folklore. Entries cover:
publication details
contact information
submission requirements and editorial policies
subscription terms
electronic availability and advertising
useful statistics such as circulation, average number of articles submitted and published, time from submission to decision, and time from decision to publication.
All periodicals and book series indexed in the MLA International Bibliography are listed in the directory.
An advanced, multidisciplinary database featuring secondary resources in history, scholarly articles, over 57,000 eBooks and other resources spanning the humanities and sciences.
Current, comprehensive, and reliable online resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Contains online Dictionary of Literary Biography.
Literature Criticism Online: Children's Literature Review covers more than 750 authors and includes numerous entries focusing on individual titles and topics in children’s and young adult literature, including picture books, folklore and graphic novels.
The American Writers series provides lengthy articles on authors including criticism and bibliographies.
Dictionary of Literary Biography by Various
Call Number: Ref PS 243.A54--
Publication Date: 1978--
This reference series is broken into multiple volumes covering writers of all different styles. The focus is on British and American authors but there are volumes on writers from other cultural and national backgrounds. The DLB series provides comprehensive biographical information and bibliographic information to help you find more information on an author.
Call Number: Ref. PN771.G27 v.1- v.135 + Title Index
Publication Date: 1978--
Provides an introduction to the most significant readings or interpretations of an author's work along with a brief biography and survey of his/her career and major works.
Focusing on literary-cultural production emerging from or responding to the twentieth century, broadly construed, Twentieth-Century Literature (TCL) offers essays, grounded in a variety of approaches, that interrogate and enrich the ways we understand the literary cultures of the times. This includes work considering how those cultures are bound up with the crucial intellectual, social, aesthetic, political, economic, and environmental developments that have shaped the early twenty-first century as well. TCL also publishes reviews of major studies in the field and awards the annual Andrew J. Kappel Prize in Literary Criticism.
Each issue emphasizes scholarly studies of literature in all languages, as well as related arts and cultural artifacts, from 1900 to the present; publication is international in its scope.
Feminist Review is a peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journal setting new agendas for feminism. The journal invites critical reflection on the relationship between materiality and representation, theory and practice, subjectivity and communities, contemporary and historical formations.
Journal of American Studies seeks to critique and interrogate the notion of "America", pursuing this through international perspectives on the history, literature, politics and culture of the United States. The Journal publishes works by scholars from all over the world on American literature, history, institutions, politics, economics, film, popular culture, geography and related subjects in domestic, continental, hemispheric, and global contexts. Its expanded book review section offers in-depth analysis of recent American Studies scholarship to promote further discussion and debate. The journal is intended not only for students and scholars, but also for general readers with an interest in the United States.
Articles, notes and book reviews on literary history, theory and interpretation and original material such as letters, journals and notebooks aimed at scholars and critics of language and literature.
SEL focuses on four fields of British literature in rotating, quarterly issues: English Renaissance, Tudor and Stuart Drama, Restoration and Eighteenth Century, and Nineteenth Century. The editors select learned, readable papers that contribute significantly to the understanding of British literature from 1500 to 1900. SEL is well known for the commissioned omnibus review of recent studies in the field that is included in each issue. In a single volume, readers might find an argument for attributing a previously unknown work to Shakespeare or de-attributing a famous work from Milton, a study of the connections between class and genre in the Restoration Theater, an interdisciplinary exploration of the art of the miniature and Fielding's novels, or a theoretical exposition of the "material sublime" in Romantic poetry written by women.
ELH is an academic journal established in 1934 at Johns Hopkins University, devoted to the study of major works in the English language, particularly British literature. It covers developments in literature through historical, critical, and theoretical methods.
A quarterly journal of literary scholarship and criticism, from medieval to modern times, with emphasis on literary history. Focuses on change, both in literary practice and within the profession of literature, including the relationship to feminism, ethnic studies, cultural materialism, discourse analysis, and other forms of representation and cultural criticism.
Modern Language Review is the flagship journal of the Modern Humanities Research Association. MLR is one of the oldest journals in its field, maintaining an unbroken publication record since its foundation in 1905, and publishing more than 3,000 articles and 20,000 book reviews. Each volume consists of four issues, published in January, April, July, and October of each year. Its 1000+ annual pages are divided roughly equally between articles, predominantly on medieval and modern literature in the languages of Europe, and over 500 reviews of books in these areas. All contributions are in English. Articles are chosen not only for their scholarly worth and originality but also, as far as possible, for their potential interest to a wider readership in other disciplines. No correspondence is published, nor are advertisements carried.
No full text access You can still search this journal and request articles through ILL. Founded in 1951, by F. W. Bateson, Essays in Criticism soon achieved world-wide circulation, and is today regarded as one of Britain's most distinguished journals of literary criticism. Essays in Criticism covers the whole field of English Literature from the time of Chaucer to the present day.
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism by 
A History of Modernist Poetry by 
Poets and the Peacock Dinner by 
