Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Continuity of Library Services

Announcement

As part of the closure of Hammond Hall due to a problem with the HVAC system that must be repaired, the Library's physical space will also be closed starting on Friday, May 27. We don’t have an exact date when the repair will occur, so please check our website for further updates on reopening.

Accessing Library Resources

Please be aware that the majority of the Library's services will be available remotely and online. The Library's vast digital collection, including 700,000 ebooks, over a million articles accessible through our databases and online journals, and more than 20,000 streaming films will remain available. 

.

 

Research Help

Research help will also remain available via the Library's 24/7 online chat, all of which is available through the Library's website at library.fitchburgstate.edu.

Research appointments with librarians are available via Google Meet.  Go to https://fitchburgstate.libcal.com/appointments/ to schedule an appointment. 

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary loan services will continue for electronic copies of articles and ebooks. Interlibrary loan for books will not be possible.

Archival Services

For archival services, please contact our Archivist Asher Jackson @ ajacks19@fitchburgstate.edu.

 

Physical Resources

Please note that the following services will not be available:

  • Checkout of any print or other physical materials

  • Physical course reserves

Returning Books

Books can continue to be returned by using the book drop located outside of the Hammond Main Lounge Lobby entrance. 

Stay up to date about the status of the Library

Check the Library's hours anytime at tiny.cc/AVGCLibHours

Be sure to check the Library website news or follow us on social media for more information about hours, services, and restrictions.

Online Access to our 21st Century Library

The Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library is a digital library - accessible from your home, your work place, your local public library, even your neighborhood coffee shop as long as where you are has internet access. We offer over 215,000 eBooks, over 20,000 streaming films, over 100,000 online journals and over 165 databases.

Visit the library homepage at https://library.fitchburgstate.edu/ to begin your research. In order to access library's databases, eBooks, eJournals, and other online subscription resources you need to be authenticated as an FSU student or employee, so have your Falcon Key username and password handy. See our DIY: Accessing Library Resources from Off Campus page (https://fitchburgstate.libguides.com/diyoffcampusaccess) for guidance.


University Archives

The Fitchburg State University Archive's physical location is open by appointment. You can also access the Archive's digital collections at at any time digitalarchives.fitchburgstate.edu

If you have any questions, please contact the Archivist, Asher Jackson at ajacks19@fitchburgstate.edu or 978-665-4869. You can also contact a Librarian via our online chat service at library.fitchburgstate.edu