Research Help: IDIS 1800: Global Issues (Ozay): Home

Global Issues Databases

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Global Issues In Context This link opens in a new window
Provides access to sources for analysis of current events, issues of international importance, and detailed information about nations. Each entry pulls together source material to analyze social, political, military, economic, health and cultural issues and includes access to newspapers and periodicals, web sites, and multimedia features.
Issues And Controversies This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day.

npr: National Public Radio
In a time of media fragmentation and sound bites, NPR has succeeded by focusing on its core: in-depth, quality news. NPR has evolved from a secondary to an essential news source, with dozens of bureaus around the world and the nation. Drawing on more than 340 news staff (reporters, correspondents, newscasters, editors, producers hosts and bloggers) in the United States and abroad — from Washington, D.C., and New York City, to Beijing and Dakar, we have the capacity to stay on top of breaking news, follow the most critical stories of the day and track complex issues over the long term. (About page).
BBC
BBC News is an operational business division of the British Broadcasting Corporation responsible for the gathering and broadcasting of news and current affairs.
Al Jazeera
Al Jazeera, also known as JSC, is a state-funded broadcaster in Doha, Qatar, owned by the Al Jazeera Media Network. The first independent news in the Arab world to provide comprehensive news and live debates.
GlobalCitizen.org
We are a social action platform for a global generation that wants to solve the world’s biggest challenges.

On our platform you can learn about issues, take action on what matters most and join a community committed to social change. We believe we can end extreme poverty by 2030, because of the collective actions of Global Citizens across the world. (About Us page)

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for regional, national (U.S.) and international newspapers; full text television & radio news transcripts.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of major national newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post and NY Times, and many others.
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic (Now called Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal (including cases and legislation), medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.

TED Talks | Global Issues (Videos)
Video talks produced by TED on global issues of all types.
16 Podcasts From 2016 Every Global Citizen Should Listen To
A list of suggested podcasts from the website GlobalCitizen.org.
America Abroad (Podcast)
America Abroad is an award-winning documentary radio program distributed by Public Radio International (PRI) and broadcast on public radio stations nationwide. Each month, we take an in-depth look at one critical issue in international affairs and U.S. foreign policy.
Stanford Social Innovation Review | Global Issues (Podcasts)
Innovations that address global challenges such as education, environment, and health.
Amicus (Podcast)
Discussions on the implications of court cases on the nation and the world.
DecodeDC
DecodeDC has a broad mandate: to help Americans understand how crucial political issues affect everyday life. We do this by using every narrative tool we can – from podcasts to analysis to interactive graphics and video. We want to be a reliable, honest and, when appropriate, highly entertaining source of insight and explanation of Washington, D.C.’s people, culture, policies and politics, but mostly we want to be useful. (About page).