Research Help: HIST 4500: Senior Seminar (Goodlett): Find Books

Find Books in the Library Catalog

Why would you use a book over an article you can find online? Typically books you find in the college library are nonfiction works; the exception being any Literature or poetry of significance. The library collects books detailing research on various topics you may learn about in your classes. Because they are longer than articles you find online and in the databases, books are great, in-depth sources of information.

Find books at the Fitchburg State Library...

Basic Search | Advanced Search | Search other libraries using Worldcat

Keyword vs Subject

Knowing the difference between search fields helps you dig deeper into a database to find relevant information.

Keyword: searches anywhere and everywhere for the search term. You get lots of results but fewer will be relevant to your research.

Subject: searches only in the subject headings for the term. You will get results where your search term has been described as one of the main subjects of an item, meaning fewer results but much more relevant sources of information.

eBooks

eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary e-books representing a broad range of academic subjects. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that students and scholars will have access to information relevant to their research needs. Containing more than 180,000 e-books, this collection includes titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, MIT Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, McGill-Queen's University Press, Harvard University Press and many others. Additional academic publishers include Elsevier, Ashgate Publishing, Taylor & Francis, Sage Publications and John Wiley & Sons.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences, JSTOR Life Sciences, and JSTOR eBooks This link opens in a new window
An advanced, multidisciplinary database featuring secondary resources in history, scholarly articles, over 57,000 eBooks and other resources spanning the humanities and sciences.
Ebook Central (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
A collection of E-Books. You can either search or browse by subject.
Note: Formerly known as eBrary E-Books. To download a full book you must create a free account.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This is a multi-disciplinary collection which allows you to search and view the full text of its eBooks. Read an eBook instantly with your web based reader or download eBooks to your portable device. Includes all EBSCOhost individually bought titles and titles from the eBook Academic Collection database.
University of Michigan Press eBooks Open Access This link opens in a new window
University of Michigan Press is a leading publisher and distributor of books and digital projects in the humanities and social sciences that are aligned with the strengths of its parent institution. Areas of particular focus are performing arts; classical studies; political science; American studies (especially disability and class studies); Asian and African studies.
Project Muse Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
Features of Open Access books and journals on MUSE: Search and browse using the same tools for all MUSE content. Content already owned by libraries appears in search results. Requires no login or registration for access. DRM-free, with unlimited downloading and printing.