Research Help: FYE 1015: General Biology (Rehrig): Home

Watch

Food Safety by Nina E. Redman; Michele Morrone
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781440852626
Publication Date: 2017-02-13
Presenting compelling and current information about some of the most important food safety issues, this book is an invaluable reference for anyone interested in avoiding foodborne disease or understanding how food safety standards could be improved This edition examines the history of food safety and describes in detail key events and trends that have created the food safety issues of today. It explores the many controversies concerning food consumption, including contaminants in food, GMOs, factory farm-produced meat, and standards regarding the labeling of food products as well as the ways that these issues have been handled by authorities.

Issues And Controversies This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day.

Food Safety | Topic Overview
This topic overview defines food safety and summarizes common issues and concerns.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An easy-to-use database providing dictionary and encyclopedia entries on subjects in all academic disciplines; a scholarly alternative to Wikipedia. Provides access to over 1,000 reference books.

NIH Daily Values
NIH Office of Dietary Supplements definition of Daily Values (DVs) with links to DV Tables for nutrients, vitamins, and minerals.
NIH Nutrient Recommendations and Databases
NIH Office of Dietary Supplements resources and recommendations for diet intake.
Dietary Guidelines for Americans
Advice on the foods and beverages that will help individuals develop a healthy diet, meet nutrition needs and prevent diet-related diseases. The U.S. Departments of Agriculture and Health and Human Services are required to review and update the guidelines every five years, and the 2020-2025 DGA were released in December 2020.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Developed to meet the increasing demands of scholarly research, Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive geoscience resource.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences, JSTOR Life Sciences, and JSTOR eBooks This link opens in a new window
An advanced, multidisciplinary database featuring secondary resources in history, scholarly articles, over 57,000 eBooks and other resources spanning the humanities and sciences.
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology’s cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment. The database includes over 285 titles, with more than 250 available in full text. Coverage: 1946 - current.

FalconSearch
You can use FalconSearch on the library's homepage to find articles, books, ebooks, and additional materials all at once. FalconSearch is an excellent starting place when you aren't sure which database to choose.
Science Daily
ScienceDaily features breaking news about the latest discoveries in science, health, the environment, technology, and more.
Science News
Science News was founded in 1921 as an independent, nonprofit source of accurate information on the latest news of science, medicine and technology. Today, our mission remains the same: to empower people to evaluate the news and the world around them. It is published by the Society for Science, a nonprofit 501(c)(3) membership organization dedicated to public engagement in scientific research and education (EIN 53-0196483).
Nature
Nature publishes significant research and discoveries in the sciences. Use their website to find primary research, reviews, critical comment, news and analysis.

American Scientist
A bimonthly magazine about science and technology. Each issue is filled with feature articles written by prominent scientists and engineers, reviewing important work in fields that range from molecular biology to computer engineering.
National Geographic
National Geographic is a popular American monthly magazine published by the National Geographic Society. Known for its photojournalism, it is one of the most widely read magazines of all time.
Science
News from Science, the award-winning daily news site of the journal Science. Every day the news staff of Science magazine and our contributing freelancers bring you top stories from the world of scientific research and science policy.
Scientific American
Scientific American covers the most important and exciting research, ideas and knowledge in science, health, technology, the environment and society. It is committed to sharing trustworthy knowledge, enhancing our understanding of the world, and advancing social justice.

Science Magazine Podcast
Listen and subscribe to the Science Podcast featuring the most interesting news and research from the Science family of journals.
Nature Podcast
The Nature Podcast brings you the best stories from the world of science each week. We cover everything from astronomy to zoology, highlighting the most exciting research from each issue of the Nature journal.
Radiolab
Radiolab is on a curiosity bender. We ask deep questions and use investigative journalism to get the answers. A given episode might whirl you through science, legal history, and into the home of someone halfway across the world. The show is known for innovative sound design, smashing information into music. It is hosted by Lulu Miller and Latif Nasser.
Science Vs
Science Vs takes on fads, trends, and the opinionated mob to find out what’s fact, what’s not, and what’s somewhere in between.
Science Friday
Covering the outer reaches of space to the tiniest microbes in our bodies, Science Friday is the trusted source for news about science, technology, and other cool stuff. Host Ira Flatow mixes it up by featuring people in the know and those who want to be. Science Friday frequently features listeners that call in with their most riveting science questions.
Science Talk
Scientific American magazine's weekly podcast unpacking the latest scientific developments covered in greater detail than their sister pod 60-Second Science.

Tech Lending Library
by Kim Smalley Last Updated Sep 24, 2023 56 views this year