Research Help: ENGL 2650: Ethnic American Literature (Snow): Get Started

In-Class Worksheets

Monday, 11/7/2022 In-class Worksheet

Literature Research and Analysis

Research Topics in English Literature
This blog post helpfully covers research topics and questions for English literature.
Common Types of Literary Analysis Papers
Specific assignments will vary depending on the class and the professor but this guide includes strategies and tips for writing some general types of papers you may encounter in literary studies.
What is literary criticism?
Lumen course on approaches to literary criticism.

Background Information

These are a few databases you can use to find background information on a topic before searching for scholarly research articles. Learning more about an issue helps you round out your eventual research and essays.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An easy-to-use database providing dictionary and encyclopedia entries on subjects in all academic disciplines; a scholarly alternative to Wikipedia. Provides access to over 1,000 reference books.
Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
The online edition of the oldest English-language general encyclopaedia.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The definitive record of the English language.

Reference Books

Black American Writers Past and Present by Theressa G. Rush; Carol F. Myers; Esther S. Arata
Call Number: Ref. PS153.N5R87 v.1
ISBN: 0810807858
Publication Date: 1975-06-28
Supplies facts on the lives and lists the works of more than 2,000 Black American writers.
Masterpieces of African-American Literature by Frank N. Magill
Call Number: Ref. PS153.N5M264 1992
ISBN: 0062700669
Publication Date: 1992-12-08
A unique and vital guide that summarizes, explains and evaluates the greatest works of African-American literature -- including articles on writings from James Baldwin, W. E. B. DuBois, Langston Hughes, Malcolm X, Toni Morrison and many more.
Black Literature Criticism by James P. Draper (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. PS153.N5B556 1992 v.1
ISBN: 0810379295
Publication Date: 1991-09-01
This contains critical excerpts on some 125 internationally-prominent black authors of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries.
Harlem Renaissance and beyond : literary biographies of 100 black women writers, 1900-1945 / by Lorraine E. Roses; Ruth E. Randolph
Call Number: Ref. PS153.N5R65 1990
ISBN: 0816189269
Publication Date: 1989-12-01
Asian American Writers by edited by Deborah L. Madsen
Call Number: Ref. PS243.A54 v.312
Publication Date: 2005
Dictionary of Literary Biography systematically presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods.
Hispanic Literature Criticism by Jelena O. Krstovic (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. PQ7081.A1H573 1994 v.1
ISBN: 0810391457
Publication Date: 1994-04-01
This two-volume reference covers literary criticism on the works of 70 Hispanic authors. Each entry includes: critical opinion on the author and his/her works; bibliographical citation for each criticism; a chronology of principal works; biographical and career details; and further reading.
Twentieth-century Literary Criticism by Gale Research Co.
Call Number: Ref. PN771.G27 v.1
Excerpts from criticism of the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers and other creative writers who lived between 1900 and 1960, from the first published critical appraisals to current evaluations.
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism by Gale Research Co
Call Number: Ref. PN761.N5 v.1
Excerpts from criticism of the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers and other creative writers who lived between 1800 and 1900, from the first published critical appraisals to current evaluations.

Refworks

RefWorks
Create your account with your Fitchburg State email address.
more...less...
Note: You must have popups enabled for RefWorks to work properly.

Refworks is a great tool for staying organized while you're searching for articles. It also helps you format your citations and write your bibliography. Sign up for an account with your Fitchburg State University email address to start using Refworks.