Research Help: Education Research Guide: Databases & Journals

Recommended Databases

Best Bets

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Developed to meet the increasing demands of scholarly research, Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Large comprehensive source for full-text and bibliographic material covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education.
ERIC (EBSCOhost version) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resources Information Center, is a national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement. It provides access to full text, references, citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals the majority of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to the journal literature, ERIC indexes education-related materials from a variety of sources, including scholarly organizations, professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the U.S. Department of Education and other federal agencies, and state and local agencies. Individual contributors submit conference papers, research papers, dissertations, and theses. Many of these ERIC documents provide access to full text as well.

Supplementary

JSTOR Arts & Sciences, JSTOR Life Sciences, and JSTOR eBooks This link opens in a new window
An advanced, multidisciplinary database featuring secondary resources in history, scholarly articles, over 57,000 eBooks and other resources spanning the humanities and sciences.
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic (Now called Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal (including cases and legislation), medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Descriptions and critical reviews of commercially available English language tests, including a comprehensive bibliography of all known commercially available tests that are currently in print.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a specialized collection of nearly 520 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
ProQuest Education Database This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics; access to over 745 top educational publications, including nearly 600 of the titles in full text.
PsycARTICLES (APA: American Psychological Association) This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage on topics: emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
PsycINFO (APA: American Psychological Association) This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
SPORTDiscus With Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals. Also useful for Physical Education. (Note: 4 simultaneous users)
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. The Database provides some full-text articles. The TRC has minimal overlap with either the Professional Development Collection or Academic Search Premier.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
A search engine for scholarly literature. Searches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. For info on how to use Google Scholar to find articles available at Fitchburg State see https://fitchburgstate.libguides.com/c.php?g=556392&p=3825507

And, Or, Not

Combine your search terms with AND, OR, NOT:

These are called Boolean Operators or search commands for describing what you want to find in a database.

AND	NARROWS RESULTS	results must include both words	e.g. athletes AND injuries
OR	BROADENS RESULTS	results can include either word	e.g. athletes OR players
NOT	NARROWS RESULTS	results must not include the second word	e.g. athletes NOT professional

See a visual guide to using Boolean here!
The Boolean Machine

About Databases

There are many databases you can use each with a different collection of sources and search features. Some databases are subject specific while others cover a more general, broad-based range of subject areas. Academic Search Ultimate, Education Source, and ERIC are great databases to start with. The other databases listed below are additional resources you may also want to use depending on your topic.

Journals

Below is a sampling of journals that you have access to which cover a broad range of topics in the field of Education. Additional journal titles are provided under the Education Level Resources section.