Research Help: EDUC 9300: Educational Research (Sargent): Get Started

Stages of a literature review include:

Identify the question.
Identify search terms.
Search databases & save articles.
Read, summarize, and critique articles.
Identify gaps and repeat search steps.
Organize sources by themes or variables.
Write literature review.

Background Research

Credo Reference
An easy-to-use database providing dictionary and encyclopedia entries on subjects in all academic disciplines; a scholarly alternative to Wikipedia. Provides access to over 1,000 reference books.
CQ Researcher
In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Encyclopaedia Britannica
The online edition of the oldest English-language general encyclopaedia.
Gale in Context: Global Issues
Provides access to sources for analysis of current events, issues of international importance, and detailed information about nations. Each entry pulls together source material to analyze social, political, military, economic, health and cultural issues and includes access to newspapers and periodicals, web sites, and multimedia features.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Descriptions and critical reviews of commercially available English language tests, including a comprehensive bibliography of all known commercially available tests that are currently in print.

YouTube Channel

Fitchburg State University Library YouTube Channel
The Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio librarians maintain an active YouTube Channel with How-To videos covering a wide range of frequently asked questions.

RefWorks

Citing your sources is one of the most important steps in doing research. RefWorks will allow you to store and organize your citations as well as easily create your bibliography/references (whether annotated or not) and final paper in the correct style.

You can use RefWorks to:

Organize references
Format bibliographies
Create a database of your own citations
Import references directly from library databases
Insert in-text citations, footnotes and bibliographies using the Write-n-Cite tool
Share your citations with a group

RefWorks
If you do not have a current RefWorks account, start here and sign up for a new account. RefWorks will work anywhere using your login information. Off campus and on campus.

Embedded Librarian

Olivia Rossetti

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

orossett@fitchburgstate.edu
Office HA-106
Hours:
M-F 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Subjects: Art, Behavioral Sciences, Citing Sources, Counseling, Criminal Justice, Education, Faculty/Staff, Graduate Students, Human Services, Interdisciplinary Studies, Languages, Music, Philosophy, Research Help, Sociology