Research Help: EDUC 1006: Foundations of Inclusive Education (Farron-Davis): Get Started

Get Started

This research guide provides recommended resources for researching issues within the field of education. Good research begins with exploring differing perspectives; use the Get Started page to find relevant podcasts and news, click on Find Articles to explore the library's databases for studies and perspectives related to your areas of interest.

Search Strategy Worksheet

Search Strategy Worksheet
This is the digital worksheet from class on 2/13/23. Click on File > Make a copy > Rename the file and save it to your Google Drive.

Listen

Teaching Matters
Teaching Matters is an audio series exploring the unique needs of students. | WOUB Public Media
Educate
Stories about education, opportunity, and how people learn. | APM Reports
Schooled
Schooled gives the insider’s story of America’s public schools, through the eyes of the students, parents, and educators. Produced by Keystone Crossroads. Hosted by Kevin McCorry. | WHYY

Read

Education Media Centre
"Making Evidence Make News" | Many discussions about education can be based on subjective views, vested interests, political or ideological bias or just best guesses. The public deserves something more sophisticated than that and the Education Media Centre aims to help bring that about. (About us page).
nprEd
National Public Radio (NPR) Education topics page -- useful for keeping up to date on current topics of discussion.
npr|WBUR EDify Series
WBUR, a member branch of NPR based out of Boston, hosted a series in June 2018 to evaluate the past 25 years of education reform in Massachusetts. The series includes worthwhile discussions and thought provoking perspectives for you to consider.
BBC | Family & Education
The BBC provides perspectives on education from outside of the U.S. which can be helpful for understanding education issues and international solutions.
Education Week: Education And The Media Blog
Collection of current articles on education topics as they appear in the media.
Ted | Education
Watch, listen, or read the latest Ted Talks on Education.

News

The FSU library subscribes to databases with online access to hundreds of newspapers. Print issues for major newspapers are available on the second floor. Some of these major, and reputable, news sources are linked below. If you don't see a newspaper you're looking for, let us know or check out one of the suggested databases.

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for regional, national (U.S.) and international newspapers; full text television & radio news transcripts.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of major national newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post and NY Times, and many others.
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic (Now called Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal (including cases and legislation), medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.

Massachusetts

United States

International

Head of Instruction and Information Literacy

Renée Fratantonio

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

For immediate assistance, call 978-665-3223 while Renee is out of office until June 10, 2024.