Research Help: ENGL 1200: Writing II (Covino-Poutasse): Home

Getting Started

Topics & Background Information

These are a few databases you can use to find background information on a topic before searching for scholarly research articles. Learning more about an issue helps you round out your eventual research and essays.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An easy-to-use database with encyclopedia and dictionary entries on a wide array of subjects - a scholarly alternative to Wikipedia. This database also features the Mind Map tool to visualize topics related to your search terms.
Global Issues In Context This link opens in a new window
Provides access to sources for analysis of current events, issues of international importance, and detailed information about nations. Each entry pulls together source material to analyze social, political, military, economic, health and cultural issues and includes access to newspapers and periodicals, web sites, and multimedia features.
Issues And Controversies This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day.

Podcasts

Podcasts are great sources for getting ideas and dipping your toes into a topic before diving in. These are just a few that are out in the podcast-sphere. You can search for more on Apple podcasts, Soundcloud, Stitcher, nprOne, or wherever you get your podcasts.

Gender Reveal
Gender Reveal is a queer podcast that centers non-binary, transgender, and gender nonconforming folks. Features interviews LGBTQ artists, activists, and educators; answer listener questions with the hope of getting a little bit closer to understanding what the heck gender is.
Beyond Gender
The Beyond Gender podcasts aims to highlight the voices and show allies more than one story about being transgender. Through a series of interviews, this podcast will shine a light on experiences of trans people from all walks of life.
What Would a Feminist Do?
The Guardian’s Jessica Valenti brings you interviews, advice and real life stories from the front lines of feminism. She talks about everything from periods or lack there of, to cyberbullying, objectification, crafting an equal and egalitarian relationship, abortions and sex education. This is the place for women and men to share their questions and thoughts about everyday issues facing women and feminism.
The Broad Experience
Women’s experiences at work can be challenging, rewarding, and downright ugly – sometimes in the same week. The Broad Experience ignites candid conversations about women, men, careers, and success (whatever that means).
New Books in Gender Studies
Features interviews with gender experts about their research and new books they have authored.
The Gender Knot
On The Gender Knot the hosts try to tackle a gender issue every week. There’s often no right or wrong answer at the end of these explorations, but avenues are opened, and hopefully this exercise will eventually lead to more insight and clarity to help us all on our way.
The Bechdel Cast
Hosts Caitlin and Jamie watch movies and discuss how women are portrayed in those movies.

Newspapers

As a member of the Fitchburg State University community, you have access to hundreds of newspapers. Because good journalism isn't free, newspaper websites can only give you access to a set number of free articles a month. The FSU library, however, subscribes to databases with access to these newspapers and also has print issues for major newspapers on the second floor.

Some of these major, and reputable, news sources are linked below. If you don't see a newspaper you're looking for, let us know or check out one of these databases.

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for regional, national (U.S.) and international newspapers; full text television & radio news transcripts.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of major national newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post and NY Times, and many others.
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic (Now called Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal (including cases and legislation), medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.

Massachusetts

United States

International

ENGL 1200: Writing II (Covino-Poutasse)

Head of Instruction and Information Literacy

TedTalks

Getting Started

Topics & Background Information

These are a few databases you can use to find background information on a topic before searching for scholarly research articles. Learning more about an issue helps you round out your eventual research and essays.

Podcasts

Podcasts are great sources for getting ideas and dipping your toes into a topic before diving in. These are just a few that are out in the podcast-sphere. You can search for more on Apple podcasts, Soundcloud, Stitcher, nprOne, or wherever you get your podcasts.

Newspapers

Some of these major, and reputable, news sources are linked below. If you don't see a newspaper you're looking for, let us know or check out one of these databases.

Massachusetts

United States

International