Research Help: CJ 7260: Social Relations and Legal Systems (Artello): Find Articles

And, Or, Not

Combine your search terms with AND, OR, NOT:

These are called Boolean Operators or search commands for describing what you want to find in a database.

Boolean Operator	Impact on Results	Explanation of Operator	Example Search with Operator
AND	NARROWS RESULTS	results must include both words	e.g. athletes AND injuries
OR	BROADENS RESULTS	results can include either word	e.g. athletes OR players
NOT	NARROWS RESULTS	results must not include the second word	e.g. athletes NOT professional

See a visual guide to using Booleans!
The Boolean Machine

Your Best Best Databases

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni™, the new interface for Lexis/Nexis. Nexis Uni is a full-text news, business, and legal database with 17,000 sources from around the world, including local, regional, national, and international newspapers, scholarly journals, trade journals, and popular magazines, television and radio broadcasts, and newswires and blogs. Legal sources include federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Also contains business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies.
HeinOnline Academic
HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases. Access to everything FSU subscribes to through HeinOnline is available through HeinOnline Academic.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Access to full text, abstracting and indexing of over 270 core journals covering research areas in international criminal justice and criminology such as criminal law, corrections, policing & investigation and forensic science.

Additional criminal justice databases can be found at this link.

CJ 7260: Social Relations and Legal Systems (Artello)

Keyword vs Subject

Knowing the difference between search fields helps you dig deeper into a catalog or database to find relevant information.

And, Or, Not

Your Best Best Databases