ENGL 1200: Writing II (Hamm): Home

1000 Symbols offers a comprehensive directory of symbols in clear, detailed artworks, each accompanied by a definition of the symbol's history and its cross-cultural meanings. Beginning with an alphabetical, cross-referenced index, the book is organized into groupings of related symbols: Geometrical Shapes, The Universe and the Elements, Characters and People, Living Creatures, Flowers, Plants, and Trees, Mythical Beasts, Objects and Artifacts, Numbers and Colors. Whether you are baffled by the relevance of the winged staff held by Mercury in a classical painting or wonder about the number of branches on the Hebrew menorah, this comprehensive directory will give you the information you are looking for, and place the explanation in its historical and cultural context.

More than 500 articles spotlight folk literature, music, and crafts; sports and holidays; tall tales and legendary figures; genres and forms; scholarly approaches and theories; regions and ethnic groups; performers and collectors; writers and scholars; religious beliefs and practices. The alphabetically arranged entries vary from concise definitions to detailed surveys, each accompanied by a brief, up-to-date bibliography.

This delightfully informative dictionary covers a wide array of popular superstitions, touching on virtually every aspect of human culture. They embrace family life and the lore of farmers, sailors, miners, and actors; offer advice on the signs to observe when contemplating a journey or a marriage; reveal the significance of animals, plants, stones, colors, food and drink, the elements, and heavenly bodies; and outline the precautions to be taken after a death in the house or during a thunderstorm. Each entry is arranged alphabetically according to its central idea or object.

This comprehensive resource presents more than 400 entries and more than 80 black-and-white photographs documenting beliefs about demons and demonology from ancient history to the present. The key topics covered include: demons in different cultural and religious traditions, demons in folklore and popular culture, exorcism and other means of confronting demons, historical cases of possession and demon activity, the history of demonology, magic and witchcraft, possession and other demonic phenomena, modern-day demonologists and exorcists, strange creatures and entities related to demons, and types of demons.

From ancient times to the present, taboos have affected our societies, as demonstrated in this encyclopedia full of unusual information from around the world. 150 A-Z entries including separate entries on the foremost writers on the subject, including Sigmund Freud, Mary Douglas, Edmund Leach, Franz Steiner, and Frederick Barth.

Includes entries on magic, shamanism, the occult, and wizardry. Now covering Wicca-related material not included in the previous editions, The new and revised coverage includes: a treatment of the Inquisition; biographies of contemporary Wiccans; ""Book of Shadows""; familiars; folklore relating to witchcraft; historical cases of witchcraft trials; magic and Wicca; Salem witches; Wicca practices, rituals, beliefs, and traditions; and, witches in entertainment: films, television, stage, and popular fiction.