As a Fitchburg State faculty or student member you are issued a unique Falcon Key username and password from the Technology Department when you teach or enroll in a course/program. Whenever you are prompted to login to the library's databases and subscription resources from off campus, use your Falcon Key to login just as you do for Blackboard.
Don't know your Falcon Key?
Students and faculty can obtain their Falcon Key account information from the Technology Help Desk; you will need to provide them with your Banner ID number.
In an extended campus course/program and haven't received a Banner Student ID number because your paperwork is in progress? Contact Linda LeBlanc (978) 665-3062 or firstname.lastname@example.org for a temporary guest login to use.
Faculty/Staff Falcon Key:
Student Falcon Key:
When you are off-campus and you click on the link for a database, e-journal, etc., from the library's website you will be prompted to enter your Falcon Key login information. Once you enter it you should be taken directly into that resource and can begin using it. You will only be prompted to login once for each online session. Need help selecting a database? Subject guides provide you a list of top resources for that subject and other information to help you get started or contact the librarians for research and reference assistance. You can use the drop down lists below to select a specific database or subject guide.
From the Library's website at library.fitchburgstate.edu, use the discovery Resources Search box to search all of the library's collections or go to the Research section to go to a specific resource.
This service is useful when you have a citation for an article that you want to track down, know a specific journal that you want to use or just want to browse by subject for journals (both print and electronic) that the Gallucci-Cirio Library subscribes to. It lets you type in the name of a journal that you are looking for.
You can access the journal locator search tool using the link below or via the Research section of our library website.
Use the Library's Traditional Catalog directly via the Research section of the library's website to locate books, CDs, and etc. that are available in the Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library. Searching is available from on and off campus with no login required unless you want to access your library catalog account or click on an e-Book or e-Journal.
In the Gallucci-Cirio Library:
The Course Reserves Service is provided for faculty members who have materials that they want available for use by the students in their course(s). This service is available for all Fitchburg State faculty and accessible to all students in on-campus, distance learning and extended campus courses. At the end of the semester usage statistics for each course's reserve items are available to the professor.
The Reserve Desk (also part of the Circulation Desk) is a physical location where faculty provide books (personal copies and/or library copies), articles, CDs, videos, etc. for student use within the Library or for short loans.
Reserve items are maintained on the bookcase located behind the Circulation Desk. The items are placed under the name of the professor who requested they be put on reserve. All reserve items are listed online in our Library 's Catalog; click on the Course Reserves button and search by professor or course name.
Faculty at extended campus locations may request Gallucci-Cirio Library-owned materials to be sent to their course location to be placed in a secure area for their students to use; please contact us at email@example.com to make arrangements.
Student Access to the Course Reserves Desk at the Library:
As a student or faculty member in a distance learning or extended campus course/program you have full access to the circulating collections in the Gallucci-Cirio Library and to most of our non-circulating collections from home via the Library's website. Use our discovery Resource Search box on our homepage to search for items across all of our print and online resources simultaneously. You can than use a variety of limiters to help narrow down your results. This is great when you are looking for a variety of resource types such as books, articles and media on your topic.
You can still go directly to a resource such as a specific research database or the Library Catalog by going to the Research section.
Note: You must be logged in as an Off-Campus user to access the online subscription databases, journals, music, etc.
When you find an item you want to use and it is accessible online you have direct access to save, print, download, listen, etc. to the item (options vary depending on the type of material and the database).
When you find an item you want to use that is physically in our library and not available online, logon to the ILLiad system to place your requests. The Library will mail the items to the address specified on your ILLiad account; there is no charge for mailing items to you. You will only be responsible for the cost of shipping books, CDs, and other circulating items back to the Gallucci-Cirio Library. Electronic copies will be delivered to your ILLiad account. You are also welcome to come to the library and check out and/or return materials through the Circulation Desk; you will need your One Card if you come to the library.
Within the library you have access to several online accounts via the Library website (Top gray bar: My Library Accounts link): the Catalog, ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery) and RefWorks (Citation Management software).
Your Catalog account is usually created/updated automatically from the campus' Banner system. When you are in the Catalog, click on My Account and log in. You need to know your 8-digit Fitchburg State Banner number which starts @01... Your library Barcode is your Banner number with the @ symbol changed to a zero; your Institution ID is your Banner number without the leading @0. Here you can view your personal information, edit your searching preferences, see what Fitchburg State library items you have checked out as well as when they are due and renew them online. If you have trouble accessing your account, please let us know.
Your ILLiad account is optional and needs to be activated and updated manually by clicking on any of the ILLiad Interlibrary Loans link under the My Library Accounts on our website or the ILLiad links located throughout our resources. If this is your first time using our ILLiad system, click on the "First time User? Create your account" link and complete the New User Registration form. If you are in an Extended Campus program and have not received your Banner ID number yet, you can still activate your ILLiad account by using the last 4 digits of your social security number where the form asks for your Banner number and entering your instructor/course information in the Notes box. You can later update your account information once you receive your Banner number.
Your RefWorks account is optional and needs to be activated and updated manually by clicking on any of the the RefWorks links located throughout our web site. If this is your first time using our RefWorks system, click on the "Sign Up for a New Account" link and complete the New User Registration form. Off-Campus users, must enter the group code: RWFSC
Your OneCard is your official university ID and also serves as your library card. It is optional for the distance learning and extended campus communities.
If you come on campus, you need your OneCard to check out library materials, use the photocopiers, and print from computers and microfiche machines. You also need your OneCard if you intend to go to any of the ARC or WILL libraries to borrow materials from them. The student number printed on the front of your OneCard serves is your Banner number.
If you only plan to access the Gallucci-Cirio Library's services online, you just need to know your Fitchburg State Banner ID number. Your Banner number with the "@" symbol changed to a zero is your library barcode.
Use our ILLiad document delivery service to have items from our print collections as well as those you we get for you from other libraries through the Interlibrary Loan service sent to you. Physical items such as books will be sent to your home via postal mail while items such as articles will be sent electronically directly into your ILLiad account as PDFs you can download. In mailing items we will incur the cost of shipping the item(s) to you; you will be responsible for the cost of shipping library items back to us and for any damaged/lost items.
Gallucci-Cirio Library-owned items and Interlibrary Loan items can be returned in person or mailed to the Gallucci-Cirio Library using the enclosed return mailing label. Any library items mailed back must be shipped in appropriate packing such as a jiffy bag to prevent the item from being damaged (ask at your local post office if you are not sure).
This service is only available to faculty teaching through extended campus or distance learning courses and students currently enrolled through a Fitchburg State extended campus or distance learning course/program.
The length of the delivery time will vary depending on the material requested and the mode of delivery available. Our goal is to ensure that you receive materials as quickly as possible.
Length of the borrowing time for physical items:
Renew Items Checked Out on Your Library Catalog Account
There are four ways that you can renew items that you have borrowed from the Gallucci-Cirio Library:
Books, journals and other materials not available at the Gallucci-Cirio Library can be requested from other libraries through our ILLiad Interlibrary Loan service. This service is available free to Fitchburg State students and faculty including those in an extended campus or distance learning course/program.
Please keep in mind that an Interlibrary Loan request for a physical item such as a book takes an average of 1 to 2 weeks and the average time for an electronic article/document takes 1 business day from the time you submit the request until you receive the item, but it may take longer. To request an item through ILLiad Interlibrary Loan, click on the ILLiad link below or from anywhere within the Library's website (Under the "My Library Accounts" link in the top bar) or by clicking on the "Find Copy" link from within the databases (note: name of link varies depending on the database).
Once you've clicked on the ILLiad link...
ILLiad Request forms will pull citation information directly from the Library's databases and automatically populate the form for you!
When you are in one of the Library's databases with items in your results list which aren't full text, simply click on the "Get Article" link, "Find a Copy" link, et cetera that you see. This will take you into our Journal Locator service which will quickly tell you whether that item is available through one of the other databases or in our library. If it states we don't have the item, scroll down and click on the "Request Books and Articles from Another Library" link. This connects you directly to the ILLiad logon page. Logon to ILLiad and the system automatically opens the request form and pulls all of the item's citation information into the form for you. All you need to do is make sure everything filled in, you can add in a note if you want, then click on the Submit Request button to send your request to the Interlibrary Loan staff who will borrow that item from another library for you.
We will search to find a library that has the item you want and we will borrow it from them. When we receive the item from the lending library we will send it to you through our Document Delivey service and notify you that it is on the way. In mailing items, we will incur the cost of shipping ILL item(s) to you.
ILL items can be returned in person or mailed to the Gallucci-Cirio Library using the enclosed return mailing label. Any ILL items mailed back must be shipped in appropriate packing such as a jiffy bag to prevent the item from being damaged (ask at your local post office if you are not sure). You will be responsible for the cost of shipping ILL items back to us and for any damaged/lost items. Length of loans for ILL materials are subject to the lending library. Patrons are asked to return materials by the specified date on the slip. Renewals may be requested once and they are dependent upon the lending library's policy and not Fitchburg State. If you have questions about ILLiad, please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org or 978 665-3063.
Academic & Research Collaborative (ARC)
ARC is one of two cross-borrowing programs the Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library participates in. Through ARC Fitchburg State students, faculty and staff may borrow circulating materials directly at most of these libraries. Within this group we participate in both a student and a faculty/staff cross-borrowing program. In order to borrow circulating materials directly from any of these libraries, you must present a Student, Faculty or Staff ARC Card issued by our Circulation Department and your Fitchburg State OneCard at that library's circulation desk. To get your ARC Card, please inquire at the Circulation Desk of the Gallucci-Cirio Library. As part of this cross-borrowing agreement, you as the borrower, agree to abide by that library's policies which may differ from Fitchburg State as to length of the check out period, late fine rate, etc.
MA Higher Education Libraries (WILL)
WILL is one of two cross-borrowing programs the Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library participates in.Fitchburg State students, faculty and staff may borrow circulating materials directly at most Massachusetts state university through the WILL program at no charge. (UMass Worcester - Medical does not participate in this agreement). Simply present your Fitchburg State Student OneCard at that library's Circulation Desk to register for borrowing privileges. If you have a picture-less OneCard, you may be asked to also provide a picture I.D. such as a driver's license. As part of this cross-borrowing agreement, you as the borrower, agree to abide by that library's policies which may differ from Fitchburg State as to length of the check out period, late fine rate, etc.
Renew Items Checked Out from Other Libraries via ILLiad Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan is a library-to-library service; all requests for borrowing and renewing items from other libraries through the Interlibrary Loan Service must go through the Gallucci-Cirio Library's Interlibrary Loan staff via ILLiad. Our policies and procedures are based on the National Interlibrary Loan Code for the United States. Login to your ILLiad account, click on "Checked Out Items" from the left-hand menu and then click on on the request renewal link for the item. While the renewal request is being processed you may hold on to the item, even past the due date. We will send you an email notification via ILLiad as follows:
Renew Items You Checked Out Directly from an ARC or WILL Library
Contact that library's Circulation staff to find out their policies.