Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Services

When searching within the Library's FalconSearch, sign into your account. You can expand your search to see items from other libraries by clicking on the "Didin't find what you were looking for? Click here to expand your search" link at the top of your results page:

When you find an item in the results list that you want to request, click on the "Get It for me from other libraries" link (this takes you to the Get It section of the item's record) or click on the item's title and scroll down to the Get It section of the item's record.

In the item record's Get It section, if you aren't already signed into your FalconSearch account click on the "Sign in" link here (if you are already signed in you are all set and won't see the "Sign in" link here), enter your Fitchburg State email address and password. Click on the option provided to access the request form. You may see more than one option provided as in the example below where you can request the physical book or you can request a digital copy of a specific chapter/pages from the book.

FalconSearch automatically fills in your information and item's information for you. Select your delivery method if applicable, fill in any additional information such as a note if applicable, and submit your request. The library staff, upon receipt of the request, tries to get the item for you from another library. The system emails you a notification when the item is ready for you to access (electronic items), ready for you to pick up, or is being delivered to your campus office (faculty and staff) or home (distance learning and extended campus students and faculty) as applicable. The system will also notify you if we weren't able to get the item for you - in this case you can reach out to the Research Help Desk if you would like help trying to find an alternative resource.

1. When you are in one of the Library's databases with items in your results list which aren't full text, simply click on the "Check for full text" link, "Get Article" link, "Find a Copy" link, et cetera that you see.
   
2. This will take you into FalconSearch which will quickly tell you whether that item is available through one of our other databases or in one of our physical collections in the library.
   • If the item is available full text online, the item record will say "Available Online" and you will see one or more links to access the item in it's Full Text Availability section. Click on the provided ebook/ejournal and/or database link to go to the full text item.
     
   • If the item is available in one of our physical library collections, It will indicate it is available in the library. Scroll down the item's record to the Find & Request section.
     • If the item is available for checkout you will see a Request link like in the screenshot below - click on the Request link to open the request form, select your pick up location and submit the request. Library staff will pull the item off the shelf and check it out to your FalconSearch account. You'll receive an email when the item is ready for you to pick up or is in the process of being delivered to your campus office or home address if applicable.
     • If the item is currently checked out, scroll down to the Get It section and follow the instructions in the next bullet to access the request form to get it from another library.
       
   • If we don't have the item, the FalconSearch finder tool takes you to the item record's Get It section. Click on the option provided to access the request form to get the item from another library and submit the Request. The Interlibrary Loan staff will try to get the item from another library for you. You'll receive an email when the item is ready for you to pick up or is in the process of being delivered to your campus office or home address if applicable. The system will also notify you if we weren't able to get the item for you - in this case you can reach out to the Research Help Desk if you would like help trying to find an alternative resource.
     

Use this form when you have a citation for an item that you found when not searching in FalconSearch or one of the Library's databases. This could be a citation from a Google search, from an item listed in the Reference list of another resource, et cetera.

1. Click on the Interlibrary Loan link.
2. Sign into your FalconSearch account with your Fitchburg State email address and password. The form will open and you can type in or copy in your citation information, then submit the form.
3. The library staff, upon receipt of the request, tries to get the item for you from another library. The system emails you a notification when the item is ready for you to access (electronic items), ready for you to pick up, or is being delivered to your campus office (faculty and staff) or home (distance learning and extended campus students and faculty) as applicable. The system will also notify you if we weren't able to get the item for you - in this case you can reach out to the Research Help Desk if you would like help trying to find an alternative resource.