Skip to main content

SPED 3520: Program Development/Students with Severe Disabilities: APA Citations

From ERIC Email your document with its APA citation attached

You can set the defaults for Standard Field Format, Citation Format, E-mail Format, and the default E-mail To address on the Preferences Screen. The selections that are set on Preferences will be applied when e-mailing.

  1. From the article, click E-mail.The E-mailing panel is displayed above the article for you to fill in.

  2. Enter the E-mail Address. To send to more than one e-mail address, use a semicolon between each e-mail address. (For example, name1@address.com; name2@address2.com).

  3. Subject - enter a subject to appear on the e-mail subject line. (For example, Results of research on topic ABC.) (40 character maximum.)

  4. Comments - enter any comments you would like to include with your e-mail.

  5. Format – Select whether you want to send the e-mail in Rich Text or Plain Text format.

  6. If you are in the folder, Remove these items from folder after e-mailing appears. Indicate whether you want to empty the folder of all items after e-mailing.

  7. Include when sending - If you do not make any selections in this area, the defaults will apply. The Detailed Citation and Abstract (plus any available HTML Full Text and PDF Full Text) will be sent. (Most users will not need to use the "Customized Field Format" selection.) Persistent links to articles are automatically included in the e-mail.

  8. HTML Full Text (when available) – Include the HTML Full Text of the article, if available.

  9. PDF as a separate attachment (when available) – Include all citation information and the article in Adobe PDF format, if available.

  10. Choose Citation Format (instead of leaving it on the Sandard Field Format) and select APA from the list  - The specific format options you can select from on the drop-down list are:
    • AMA - American Medical Association
    • APA - American Psychological Association
    • Chicago/Turabian Author - Date
    • Chicago/Turabian Humanities
    • MLA - Modern Language Association
    • Vancouver/ICMJE

  11. To send the e-mail, click Send. A message appears when your e-mail has been sent.

Printing or Saving - Choose Citation Format (instead of leaving it on the Sandard Field Format) and select APA from the list  - The specific format options you can select from on the drop-down list are:

  • AMA - American Medical Association
  • APA - American Psychological Association
  • Chicago/Turabian Author - Date
  • Chicago/Turabian Humanities
  • MLA - Modern Language Association
  • Vancouver/ICMJE

Citation Management Tool

Citing your sources is one of the most important steps in doing research.  RefWorks will allow you to store and organize your citations as well as easily create your bibliography/references (whether annotated or not) and final paper in the correct style.  

You can use RefWorks to:

  • Organize references
  • Format bibliographies
  • Create a database of your own citations
  • Import references directly from library databases
  • Insert in-text citations, footnotes and bibliographies using the Write-n-Cite tool
  • Share your citations with a group

For LEGACY REFWORKS ONLY:  Off-Campus users will need to entergroup code: RWFSC to get access. Choose the "Export to RefWorks" option in most databases.

Note: You must have popups enabled for RefWorks to work properly.

APA Style Resources

When using the library's research databases, many (such as Academic Search Complete) provide the option to place the document's citation information into the the style format of your choice when you go to print, save or email it. Remember to select the APA format (or which ever style your professor requires) and you can save yourself some time. For online resources that don't have this option and when citing from print resources, print and online APA Style manuals are available.

Not sure how to cite a resource? Ask A Librarian!

Helpful APA related sites to assist you with proper citations: