Applied Statistics: Home

The typical research study will include a research question, a specific group of subjects to be tested, the method used to test the theory, actual testing and measuring, and then a summary of the data collected. These findings are then written up into a research report and submitted for publication in professional journals. Research articles typically includes these sections:

• Abstract
   
• Literature review
   
• Methodology of experiment
   
• Research
   
• Results
   
• Areas of further study
   
• Conclusion
   
• Bibliography

The Library has two options for finding newspaper articles:

• ProQuest Newspapers - This database provides full-text coverage of major Massachusetts newspapers, plus selected coverage of other regional sources such as Boston Globe, Boston Herald, Sentinel & Enterprise (Fitchburg, MA), The Sun (Lowell, MA), Telegram & Gazette (Worcester, MA), Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Denver Post, USA Today and The Washington Post.

• You can find the print versions of the following newspapers in the Library:

• Boston Globe
• Boston Herald
• New York Times
• Sentinel & Enterprise (Fitchburg)
• Telegram & Gazette (Worcester)
• Wall Street Journal

Communications Media

• Communication & Mass Media Complete - Quality research sources in areas related to communication and mass media. (search database)
• Communication Quarterly (browse journal)
• Communication Studies (browse journal)
• Critical Studies in Media Communication (browse journal)

Criminal Justice

• Criminal Justice Periodicals - A comprehensive collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals. (search database)
• Criminal Justice & Behavior (browse journal)
• Criminology (browse journal)
• Journal of Criminal Justice (browse journal)
• Journal of Criminal Law & Criminology (browse journal)

Environmental Biology

• ProQuest Science Journals - Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. (search database)
• E (browse journal)
• Environment (browse journal)
• Journal of Environmental Education (browse journal)
• Journal of Environmental Health (browse journal)
• Teaching Issues and Experiments in Ecology (browse journal)

Exercise & Sport Science

• SPORTDiscus with Full Text - The definitive database for finding full-text articles in all areas of sports & sports medicine literature. (search database)
• American Journal of Sports Medicine (browse journal)
• Journal of Motor Behavior (browse journal)
• Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport (browse journal)

Human Services

• ProQuest Social Science Journals - Search full-text scientific journals covering the social sciences. (search database)
• Journal of Addiction & Offender Counseling (browse journal)
• Social Work (browse journal)
• Social Work Research (browse journal)

Nursing

• CINAHL Plus with Full Text - Full text articles in nursing & allied health journals. (search database)
• Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing (browse journal)
• Journal of Clinical Nursing (browse journal)
• Nurse Researcher (browse journal)

Political Science

• Academic OneFile - Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles in many subjects. (search database)
• American Political Science Review (browse journal)

Psychology

• PsycARTICLES - Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. (search database)
• Journal of Educational Psychology (browse journal)
• Learning Disability Quarterly (browse journal)
• Reading Research Quarterly (browse journal)

Secondary Education/History

• ERIC - Contains full text, references, citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals. (search database)
• Journal of Educational and Behavioral Statistics (browse journal)
• Journal of Educational Research (browse journal)

Sociology

• SocIndex with Full Text - Comprehensive sociology research database; contains full text for books and monographs, journals and conference papers. (search database)
• Journal of Social Issues (browse journal)
• Journal of Social Psychology (browse journal)

Communications Media

• Gallup - conducts public opinion polls in nearly 140 countries.
• Pew Research Center - a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.

Criminal Justice

• Federal Bureau of Investigation Crime Statistics - Find local, state, and national crime statistics including Crime in the U.S., Hate Crimes, Law Enforcement Officers Killed/Assaulted, and specialized reports.
• Fatality Analysis Reporting System Encyclopedia - Motor vehicle, motorcycle, bicycle and pedestrian fatalities.

Environmental Biology

• National Science Foundation's Research and Development Information System - the primary source of information on Research and Development (R&D) performed by industries within the United States.
  

Exercise & Sport Science

• Occupational Health and Safety Administration Statistics & Data - statistics on workplace injury, illness and fatalities.

Human Services

• AARP AgeSource - database for finding worldwide age-related data.  To see all available US data: select Information Type - "Statistical Resource", Geographic Coverage - "United States", Language of Contents - "English" and then click "submit".
• Center for Disease Control and Prevention FastStats - statistics for a variety of public health topics.

Nursing

• Global Burden of Disease - from the World Health Organization.
• Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project
• HCUPnet - a free, on-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP).

Political Science

• SDA Archive - Archive of census data, racial and prejudice survey data, and labor and health surveys from the Computer-assisted Survey Methods Program (CSM) at the University of California, Berkeley.

Psychology

• Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive
• Epidemiology of Mental Illness
• Mental Health: Culture, Race and Ethnicity

Secondary Education/History

• Historical Census Browser - Browse historical Census data from 1780 - 1960 by year or by topic.
• National Center for Education Statistics - Find data on the condition of education, indicators of school crime and safety and other education statistics.

Sociology

• Massachusetts QuickFacts from the US Census Bureau
• Census Data 2000 for Massachusetts
• Commonwealth Communities - links to data and other information for all 351 Massachusetts cities and towns.
• NationMaster World Statistics - find statistical data by country or by topic for all countries.
• CIA World Factbook - find data for countries.
• United Nations Statistics Division

General

• Math Forum Library Data Sets - a gateway page to many different data sets across many disciplines.
• Statistical Abstract of the United States - Published by the US Census, the Statistical Abstract contains data on a wide variety of topics and subjects.